Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

English Literature: Enlightenment

This is a research guide for resources in English Literature.

   The Enlightenment/Neoclassical Period lasted from 1660 CE to 1790 CE; the era is characterized by the following:

  • the Restoration Period (1660 - 1700 CE),
  • the Augustan Age (1700 - 1750 CE), and
  • the Age of Johnson [also known as the Colonial Period in America] (1750 - 1790 CE).


When searching MICAL or an online database, the following Subject Headings can be used for conducting a "Subject" search. You can also follow the links below for a subject search in the catalog:

English literature -- 18th century

Neoclassicism (Literature)

English drama -- 18th century

Literature, Modern -- 18th century

American literature -- Colonial period, ca. 1600-1775

Keyword search for "Enlightenment Literature"

Selected eBooks

The following eBooks are part of the new eBook Academic Collection, which provides full-text access of over 180,000 eBooks! Learn more about how to download an eBook to read on your computer or on your Apple, Android, and Kindle devices here.