Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search MICAL for library books, journals, and media materials physically located in Speed Library:
You can also find eBooks that you can view in your browser or download to your Apple, Android, or Kindle devices!
Find Reference Sources
Reference sources include dictionaries, almanacs, encyclopedias, and more, which provide basic information about a subject, person, or idea.
Speed Library has access to both print and online reference sources.
- Print reference titles are available in the Reference Room on the first floor of the library. To search those titles, conduct an Advanced Search in MICAL for your topic and the word "reference."
- Online reference sources may be accessed via the library's two reference sources databases
1. Oxford Reference and
2. Credo Reference.
Find Journal Articles
Below are links to suggested databases for ENG 102. Search them using keywords and subject headings relevant to your topic.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues
Literature Resource Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive site focusing on the study of literature. Extensive materials including biographical, bibliographic, critical and contextual information on authors and their works. Includes full text journal articles as well as essays.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Backfiles of journal articles all available in full image in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences
Developing Your Topic
Use this worksheet to help develop your research topic and find keywords to use when searching the catalog & databases.
Types of Periodicals
Newspapers, magazines and journals are all types of periodicals - published at intervals or periodically. In the case of newspapers, this may be daily, and some journals only produce one issue a year. Find out how periodicals differ from each other and how they can benefit your research with this pdf handout.
Scholarly vs Popular
Learn how to distinguish between popular & scholarly sources. Very useful when paired with the 'Types of Periodicals' handout above!
Evaluating Source Using TRAAP Criteria
Learn more about evaluating web sources using TRAAP = Timeliness, Relevancy, Authority, Accuracy, & Purpose.
Library Tutorial Videos
See FAQs asked by other students or use the email form to ask your own question here: mc.libanswers.com! You can also call a Reference Librarian at (601) 925-3916 or text us as (601) 326-2031 [less than 150 character texts, please].