The Leland Speed library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The general collection is located on the basement level floor. Below is a list of some of the Dewey Decimal class numbers related to English and Literature.
| 800 | Literature & Rhetoric |
| 810 | American literature in English |
| 830 | Literatures of Germanic Languages |
| 840 | Literature of Romance Languages |
| 850 | Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic |
| 860 | Spanish & Portuguese literatures |
| 890 | Literature of other languages |
For information about where in the library books, DVDs, etc., are located, see the Location Guide linked below.
Below are links to keyword and subject searches in eBooks in our new Academic eBook Collection. Learn more about how to download an eBook to read on your computer or on your Apple, Android, and Kindle devices here.
Brewer's Dictionary of Phrase and Fable by 
Dictionary of American Literary Characters by The following Subject Headings can be used to search by subject in the catalog to locate books in the MC Library:
You can also create more specific search strings of Subject Headings to include dates, topics, and resource type. Here are some examples:
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by
This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Michael Ferber has assembled nearly two hundred entries clearly explaining and illustrating the literary symbols that we all encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The Dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literature. Its informed style and rich references will make this book an essential tool not only for literary and classical scholars, but for all students of literature.
Dictionary of Literary Terms and Literary Theory by