→ Use the following resources to find governmental and corporate technical reports.
The resources below will indicate whether they are restricted to MC users or are publicly available.
- IEEE Xplore provides access to some of the world's most highly cited publications in electrical engineering, computer sciences, and electronics.
- Provides access to articles, papers, reports, and standards from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE).
-
NTRL is the gateway to indexes, abstracts, and technical reports of the National Technical Information Service (NTIS).
-
NTIS archives report from the Departments of Defense, Energy, Transportation, Agriculture, Health and Human Services, and other government agencies.
- Search by keyword or title to find report number, issuing agency, and author.
- NOTE: NTRL is a good resource for learning report titles, numbers, and issuing agencies.
- NOTE: full-text often not available.
- search for technical reports from organizations funded by the US Department of Defense. The database will only include reports designated as unclassified and unlimited information.
- Results include report title, number, author, issuing agency, and full-text when available.
OSTI (public)
- Office of Scientific & Technical Information search database includes preprints, reprints, technical reports, and conference publications in science fields related to the US Department of Energy.
- Search by keyword or title and limit search results to "technical reports."
- Results include report title, number, author, issuing agency, abstract, and full-text when available.
- Use Google Scholar to find articles from a wide variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Search for technical reports by title or report number.
- Results include report title, number, abstract, publication information, and links to full-text when available.
- NOTE: Google Scholar is a good resource for determining if your technical report was published in a journal, conference proceeding, or through a governmental organization.
- HathiTrust is a large-scale collaborative repository of digital content from research libraries including content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives, as well as content digitized locally by libraries.
- Search by report title, number, issuing agency, or author.
- Best for scan and reprints of pre-1990's reports.
- TRAIL is a collaborative project to digitize, archive, and provide persistent and unrestricted access to federal technical reports issued prior to 1975 as well as more recent reports.
- Results include report title, number, author, and link to full-text.
- Contains the searchable NACA Technical Reports collection, NASA Technical Reports collection and NIX collection of images, movies, and videos.
- Includes the full text and bibliographic records of selected unclassified, publicly available NASA-sponsored technical reports.
- Coverage: NACA reports 1915-1958, NASA reports since 1958.
- Gateway to national and international scientific databases includes the information from the NTRL database.
- Search from over 17 different countries, will translate to English.
- Results include report title, number, author, issuing agency, physical holding location, link to full-text when available.
