Skip to Main Content

Electrical Engineering: Patents

Resources for research and course work in electrical engineering at Mississippi College.

Understanding Patents

Use the following resources to learn more about patents and how to effectively search for them. 

Databases for Patents

Steps for Patent Searching

→ Step 1: Describe your design/invention. 

Brainstorm ways to describe your design or invention. A good method to use for Step 1 is to determine  FUSE for your design or invention. 

Function 

Use

Structure

Effect 

By determining FUSE you are describing your design based on its purpose, composition, and use. 

→ Step 2: Find synonyms for your design/invention. 

Finding synonyms is an important step in any search process.  When determining if your design is new or finding a particular patent it is important to remember that all devices/inventions/designs will be titled or called different names by different inventors, companies, and countries.  Therefore, it is important to find various names, spelling, and wordage prior to beginning your patent search. 

For example, you are searching for a patent on cell phones

You might want to consider the following terms: cellular phone, cellular device, mobile phone, mobile device, hand-held phone, iPhone, wireless telephone, smartphone, etc. 

→ Step 3: Find relevant CPC or IPC classifications and sub-classifications. 

The best way to search for patents is by classifications.  Performing a classification search allows you to search a larger range of patents that might be related to your design or invention.  Make sure to keep a track of all classifications and sub-classifications that relate to your design/invention -- you will be using these codes to search for patents. 

There are two main classification schemes - CPC and IPC. 

CPC - Cooperative Patent Classification 

  • Used by both the US and European Patent Offices
  • This is the newest classification system for patents and is being adopted worldwide. 

IPC - International Patent Classification 

  • Used internationally 
  • Moving to CPC, but many international patents still only have IPC classification numbers. 

Classification searches can be conducted via the USPTO and Espacenet.  

USPTO: 

  • search CPC scheme + keyword
    • CPC scheme cell phone
  • Find the CPC definition that best matches your design/invention 
  • Explore CPC classifications and sub-classifications related to your design/invention.

Espacenet

  • Select "classification search" from the left navigation menu. 
    • Search by keyword.
  • Browse classification and sub-classifications related to your design/invention
  • Select classifications to see narrower sub-classifications.
  • Use the 'D' to find definitions of schemes and help narrow your search.

 

→ Step 4: Search for relevant patents using CPC/IPC codes.

Once you have a list of relevant CPC/IPC codes, you can begin searching for patents. You can search both the USPTO database and Espacenet with classifications and sub-classifications, follow help sections to determine how the search text should be formatted. 

When searching the USPTO PatFT (Patent Full-Text Database) use the following searching options:

Term 1 = Full classification/subclassification without spaces (Ex: A45B25/22)
Field 1 = Current CPC Classification (NOTE: do not use "Current CPC Classification Class" this will limit the search to the class only portion of the classification)
Select Years: 17690-Present 

When searching through patents, focus on the front page information first to help determine relevancy. 

Make sure to keep track of all patent numbers/titles you search.  

→ Review relevant patents in-depth.

Once you have found relevant patents, it is important to review each patent individually for similarities to your design/invention. Pay close attention to drawings, specifications, and claims.  You may also want to review cited references by both the applicant and examiner, this might lead to over relevant patents. 

Make sure to keep track of all patent numbers/titles you search.  

→ Step6: Search for Patent Applications with CPC/IPC Classifications. 

This search can only be performed via the USPTO, Applications Full-Text and Images Database or AppFT.  Use the same approaches as you did in Step 4-5 to find relevant Patent Applications.  Remember to pay close attention to additional drawings pages, specifications, and claims. 

When searching the USPTO AppFT (Applications Full-Text Database) use the following searching options:

Term 1 = Full classification/subclassification without spaces (Ex: A45B25/22)
Field 1 = Current CPC Classification (NOTE: do not use "Current CPC Classification Class" this will limit the search to the class only portion of the classification)

 

NOTE: Espacenet already searches patents and patent applications when a classification search is conducted. 

 

→ Step 7: Broaden Search

Once you have searched one patent database, you should search another.  For example, if you searched the USPTO database first you should then search Espacenet. Each new patent database will present you with new patents that might be relevant to your design/invention. 

Remember to keep track of all classifications/sub-classifications you search AND account of all the patents you reviewed.  

Need More Help?

The Mississippi Library Commission is a designated Patent & Trademark Resource Center for the state of MS (designated by the USPTO).  The collection contains Utility, Design, and Plant patents.  

Address: 3881 Eastwood Dr. Jackson, MS 3921

Finding Patents

Use the following resources to find US and European patents.

 

US Patent & Trademark Office 

  • The USPTO is a federal agency in the Department of Commerce in the United States.

  • Search for full-text of issued patents from the USPTO, images are available as TIFF documents.

Espacenet 

  • Search interface of the European Patent Office.

  • Search by patent number (with or without country code). 

Patent Lens 

  • Search granted patents and applications from the US, Europe, Australia, and WIPO. 

  • Full-text available as HTML and PDF.

Google Patents 

  • Applies Google searching technology to the USPTO's database of patents. 

  • Searchable as PDF scans of original patent documents, always make sure to check your results.