→ Use the following resources to find Material and Chemical Properties.
The resources below will indicate whether they are restricted to MC users or are publicly available.
- SciFinder is an intelligent interface which helps users to easily search the extensive Chemical Abstracts Databases
- Searches can be done by subject phrases, author names and chemical identification such as structure/substructure, reactions, molecular formulae and more.
- First-time users must register. Follow this link.
- A ready-reference book of chemical and physical data.
- Available in print at Speed Library.
- The NIST Chemistry Webbook provides convenient access to a variety of physical and chemical property data on well-defined chemical species and reactions.
- Search by formula, chemical name, CAS number, structure, etc.
- Results include formula, structure, CAS registration number, weight, names, and a wide range of other data.
- Searchable database of material properties includes data sheets of thermoplastic and thermoset polymers such as ABS, nylon, polycarbonate, polyester, polyethylene and polypropylene; metals such as aluminum, cobalt, copper, lead, magnesium, nickel, steel, superalloys, titanium and zinc alloys; ceramics; plus semiconductors, fibers, and other engineering materials.
- NOTE: full-text not available. Use MatWeb to lookup basic property values.
- Proceedings of MRS Meetings have been a staple of materials research libraries since the series started in the early 1980s.
- NOTE: full-text typically not available. Use additional databases or ILL.
- ThermoDex contains annotated bibliographic records that describe compilations of thermodynamic and physical property data for chemical compounds and other substances.
- ThermoDex is a "finding aid" designed to save you time in searching through numerous handbooks you might have in your library or lab. It enables you to enter both a type of compound and a property, and it returns a list of handbooks that might contain these data.
- Search by property and compounds.
- Produced by the National Library of Medicine, TOXNET is a resource for searching databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases.
- Search all databases or select particular ones.
- Results include report name, abstract, investigators, source, and publication year.
- NOTE: full-text not available.
- Material Safety Data Sheet (MSDS) and Toxicology Report index.
- Enter whole or partial words or numbers in the company, product name, or the CAS or NSN to search
- Provides scientific and commercial information on polymers. Searches by polymer, properties, trade name, application, etc.
- NOTE: full database unavailable. Use this database to determine polymer name, synonyms, and molecular formula.
- PubChem is a database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays
- The system is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information, a component of the National Library of Medicine.
- The Combined Chemical Dictionary (CCD) is a structured database that contains information on chemical substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical, and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; and structure diagrams and associated connection tables.
- NOTE: full database unavailable. Use CCD to find chemical name and molecular formula.
