LibGuides: English Education & English Writing: Dissertations, Videos, & Reviews

Theses & Dissertations

Looking for a dissertation, thesis, or honors paper?

Those written by a MC student are located behind the Circulation Desk at Speed Library. A few dissertations and honors papers are listed in the MICAL catalog, as well.
If written by a non-MC student, search the ProQuest Theses & Dissertations A&I database.
- Most theses & dissertations in ProQuest include the abstract and a brief preview of the item.
- To see the full-text, request it via the library's Interlibrary Loan Book Form.

Book Reviews

If you are looking for a review of a specific book, you will need the year it was first published. This can be found on the title page or the item record in MICAL.

Book Review Digest, 1905-2011
Print Location: Index shelves on Speed Library top floor near periodical shelves.
Since 1905, this source has provided citations to and excerpts of reviews from a selective list of periodicals. To be included, non-fiction works must have received two reviews, and fiction must have received four reviews in the periodicals covered. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author, though there is a Subject and Title Index. Information includes bibliographic data, a synopsis of the book, and citations to the reviews with excerpts from 3 or 4 reviews. Each citation includes the reviewer's name and the number of words, e.g. (160w).
Book Review Index, 1965-2013
Print Location: Index shelves on Speed Library top floor near periodical shelves
A rather exhaustive index, now covering reviews in more than 470 periodicals, this source provides only the citation to the review. Entries are arranged alphabetically by author, but a Title Index is included. Because the index contains such a large number of review citations, it is by far the most complete source of book reviews since 1965.
JSTOR
This multidisciplinary online database can be used to find reviews of books published from the 1800s through the early 2000s. Choose the 'Advanced Search' option to search by book title. Narrow your search by choosing the 'Review' box in the 'Narrow By' section.
The New York Review of Books
With a worldwide circulation of over 135,000, The New York Review of Books has established itself, in Esquire‘s words, as “the premier literary-intellectual magazine in the English language.” The New York Review began during the New York publishing strike of 1963, when its founding editors, Robert Silvers and Barbara Epstein, and their friends, decided to create a new kind of magazine—one in which the most interesting and qualified minds of our time would discuss current books and issues in depth. Just as importantly, it was determined that the Review should be an independent publication; it began life as an independent editorial voice and it remains independent today.

Streaming Video Collections

You have access to hundreds of hours of video, including documentaries, news segments, interviews, and more through the library's video databases. From the list of video collections, select:

Education in Video (from Alexander Street Press) to see resources for both new and experienced teachers, or
Films on Demand to search in their Education collection, and
The Alexander Street Press and Films on Demand collections offer additional categories, including: Language & Literature, Linguistics, Communication, Technology, Trade Education, Ethnic Studies & Diversity, Social Sciences, and more.

The video below is an example documentary from the Films on Demand database titled "The E-Word: Ebonics, Race, and Language Politics."