The following Subject Headings can be used to search by subject in the catalog to find books physically located in Speed Library. The headings below are linked to the MICAL, the library's online catalog.
Academic Search Premier [EBSCO]
Education Research Complete [EBSCO]
ERIC (Educational Research Information Center) [EBSCO]
SocINDEX [EBSCO]
Opposing Viewpoints -- This database covers currently debated topics, including Bilingual Education and multilingualism.
OED Online (Oxford English Dictionary Online) -- This site allows you to trace the etymology of words and provides the most complete historical record of the English language.
Rhetoric of Respect : recognizing change at a community writing center by
Studies in Writing and Rhetoric series published by the Conference on College Composition and Communication of the National Council of Teachers of English.
The Center Will Hold : critical perspectives on writing center scholarship by
In The Center Will Hold, Pemberton and Kinkead have compiled a major volume of essays on the signal issues of scholarship that haveestablished the writing center field and that the field mustsuccessfully address in the coming decade. The new century opens withnew institutional, demographic, and financial challenges, and writingcenters, in order to hold and extend their contribution to research,teaching, and service, must continuously engage those challenges.Appropriately, the editors offer the work of Muriel Harris as a keypivot point in the emergence of writing centers as sites of pedagogy andresearch. The volume develops themes that Harris first brought to thefield, and contributors here offer explicit recognition of the role thatHarris has played in the development of writing center theory andpractice. But they also use her work as a springboard from which toprovide reflective, descriptive, and predictive looks at the field.
Centers for Learning : writing centers and libraries in collaboration by
This collection examines the potential inherent in partnerships between libraries and writing centers and suggests that such partnerships might respond more effectively to student needs than separate efforts. The essays consist primarily of case studies of collaborations in institutions throughout the US. The concluding chapter reflects on the impl
Concepts in Composition: theory and practice in the teaching of writing by
A textbook for composition pedagogy courses. It focuses on scholarship in rhetoric and composition that has influenced classroom teaching, in order to foster reflection on how theory impacts practice.
The Writing Center Director's Resource Book by
The Writing Center Director's Resource Book has been developed to serve as a guide to writing center professionals in carrying out their various roles, duties, and responsibilities. It is a resource for those whose jobs not only encompass a wide range of tasks but also require a broad knowledge of multiple issues. The volume provides information on the most significant areas of writing center work that writing center professionals - both new and seasoned - are likely to encounter. It is structured for use in diverse institutional settings, providing both current knowledge as well as case studies of specific settings that represent the types of challenges and possible outcomes writing center professionals may experience. This blend of theory with actual practice provides a multi-dimensional view of writing center work. In the end, this book serves not only as a resource but also as a guide to future directions for the writing center, which will continue to evolve in response to a myriad of new challenges that will lie ahead.
Building Writing Center Assessments That Matter by
No less than other divisions of the college or university, contemporary writing centers find themselves within a galaxy of competing questions and demands that relate to assessment--questions and demands that usually embed priorities from outside the purview of the writing center itself. Writing centers are used to certain kinds of assessment, both quantitative and qualitative, but are often unprepared to address larger institutional or societal issues. In Building Writing Center Assessments that Matter, Schendel and Macauley start from the kinds of assessment strengths already in place in writing centers, and they build a framework that can help writing centers satisfy local needs and put them in useful dialogue with the larger needs of their institutions, while staying rooted in writing assessment theory. The authors begin from the position that tutoring writers is already an assessment activity, and that good assessment practice (rooted in the work of Adler-Kassner, O'Neill, Moore, and Huot) already reflects the values of writing center theory and practice. They offer examples of assessments developed in local contexts, and of how assessment data built within those contexts can powerfully inform decisions and shape the futures of local writing centers. With additional contributions by Neal Lerner, Brian Huot and Nicole Caswell, and with a strong commitment to honoring on-site local needs, the volume does not advocate a one-size-fits-all answer. But, like the modeling often used in a writing consultation, examples here illustrate how important assessment principles have been applied in a range of local contexts. Ultimately, Building Writing Assessments that Matter describes a theory stance toward assessment for writing centers that honors the uniqueness of the writing center context, and examples of assessment in action that are concrete, manageable, portable, and adaptable.
The Handbook of Technical Writing by
From formal reports and manuals to everyday e-mails, The Handbook of Technical Writing uses smart, accessible language to spotlight and clarify technical writing today. Hundreds of topic entries, 90+ sample documents, at-a-glance checklists, and dynamic videos break down the best-practices, models, and real-world skills that successful writers use to clearly and persuasively communicate technical information and data.Developed by a legendary author team with decades of combined academic and professional experience, the book’s intuitive, alphabetical organization makes it easy to navigate its extensive coverage of grammar, usage, and style. Plus, updated, in-depth treatment of pressing issues like the job search, the writing process, documenting sources, and social media resonates both in class and on the job.With a refreshed, integrated focus on the ways technologies shape writing, the Eleventh Edition of the Handbook is the indispensable reference tool for writing to workplace success.
Students' Right to Their Own Language: a critical sourcebook by
Students' Right to Their Own Language collects perspectives from some of the field's most influential scholars to provide a foundation for understanding the historical and theoretical context informing the affirmation of all students' right to exist in their own languages. Co-published with the National Council for Teachers of English, this critical sourcebook archives decades of debate about the implications of the statement and explores how it translates to practical strategies for fostering linguistic diversity in the classroom.
Below are examples of eBooks from our new Academic eBook Collection. Learn more about how to download an eBook to read on your computer or on your Apple, Android, and Kindle devices here.
Researching the Writing Center: Towards an Evidence-based Practice by
Researching the Writing Center is the first book-length treatment of the research base for academic writing tutoring. The book reviews the current state of writing center scholarship, arguing that although they continue to value anecdotal and experiential evidence, practitioner-researchers must also appreciate empirical evidence as mediating theory and practice. Readers of this book will discover an evidence-based orientation to research and be able to evaluate the current scholarship on recommended writing center practice. Chapters examine the research base for current theory and practice involving the contexts of tutoring, tutoring activities, and the tutoring of «different» populations. Readers will investigate the sample research question, «What is a 'successful' writing consultation?» The book concludes with an agenda for future questions about writing center practice that can be researched empirically. Researching the Writing Center is intended for writing center professionals, researchers, graduate students in English, composition studies, and education, and peer tutors in training.
Giving Students Effective Written Feedback by
Focuses on the key issue of feedback in student assessments "Giving Students Effective Written Feedback" considers feedback from both the perspective of tutor provider and student receiver to offer new insights into the impact feedback has on student performance. The text provides an opportunity to explore research and contemporary concerns about the function and impact of written feedback. It also offers you practical guidance on how to give more appropriate and effective feedback and strategies you can use with students to ensure that they make full use of tutor feedback. "Giving Students Effective Feedback" not only covers assessment theories and literature, but contains a wide range of examples as well as case studies that will be helpful in your teaching skill set and support of student learners.
Writing Essays: A Guide for Students in English and the Humanities by
Essays are the major form of assessment in higher education today, a fact which causes poor writers a great deal of anxiety. However essay writing is simply a skill to be learned. anyone can learn to express themselves coherently and effectively, and this book explains precisely how. If you are dissatisfied with your essay grades but don't know where to start, read on. Writing Essays reveals the tricks of the trade, making your student life easier. You will; * become proficient in every aspect of composition from introductions and conclusions, down to presentation and printing out * learn how to impress tutors with minimum effort * discover exactly what markers look for when they read your work. In addition, this book explains stress free methods of revision; effective library management; word processing and the internet. undergraduates on English, humanities and modular courses. Constructed around typical essay-writing mistakes as encountered by the author, this presents a refreshing alternative to the usual stuffy guides, written in the right language and focusing on what is relevant for students today. It includes advice on how to reference research done in the Internet.
Voices, Identities, Negotiations, and Conflicts: Writing Academic English Across Cultures by
This volume aims to provide insights into the process of knowledge construction in EFL/ESL writing - from classrooms to research sites, from the dilemmas and risks NNEST student writers experience in the pursuit of true agency to the confusions and conflicts academics experience in their own writing practices.
Below are example periodicals related to English Secondary Education. You can browse a complete list of online & print periodicals in the library's Journal Finder, examples of journals follow: