Skip to Main Content
Literary Collections
Medieval Francophone Literary Culture Outside France
This project set out to investigate the movement across Europe and beyond of Francophone literature c.1200-c.1450. The aim was to explore how key literary texts traveled along two main axes: a northern route that stretches from England across the Low Countries to Burgundy and the Rhineland; a southern route across the Alps to Northern Italy and out into the Mediterranean and Adriatic seas, to the Middle East. The database of manuscripts of six key textual traditions that is made available through this website is intended to facilitate research on cultural and linguistic identity, on medieval textuality, and on the literary history of Europe.
Digitized Manuscripts (British Library)
The Digitised Manuscripts site from the British Library’s includes manuscripts from throughout history. The collections include: Greek Manuscripts; Harley Scientific Manuscripts; Royal Illuminated Manuscripts; Botany in British India Collection; Music Manuscripts; Malay Manuscripts; Thai Manuscripts; Persian Manuscripts; Medieval Manuscripts; and Hebrew Manuscripts.
Shelley-Godwin Archive
The Shelley-Godwin Archive provides the digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft. Currently featured are the Frankenstein Notebooks, which include digitized copies of draft notebooks A & B, fair-copy notebooks, volume 1 & 2 drafts in chapter sequence, and volume 3 fair copy in chapter sequence. You can search the Frankenstein documents by keyword and limit by notebook, hand (Mary Shelley or Percy Shelley), or revisions (added or deleted passages).
Film Collections
British Film Institute (BFI) National Archives
The BFI National Archive holds a magnificent collection of film and television, from the birth of cinema to today. Concentrating on British titles, it also includes collections of posters, images, publicity material, original scripts, letters and other artifacts.
Musical Collections
Juilliard Manuscript Collection
Please address queries to:
Jane Gottlieb
Vice President for Library and Information Resources
The Juilliard School
60 Lincoln Center Plaza
New York, NY 10023-6588
212/799-5000 ext. 265
Fax: 212/799-6421
library@juilliard.eduCLICK TO VIEW THE COLLECTION
The Juilliard Manuscript Collection is an extraordinary collection of 140 priceless autograph manuscripts, sketches, engravers proofs and first editions, which were donated to the school in February 2006 by Juilliard Board Chairman Bruce Kovner.
Considered to be one of the finest music collections to be donated to an institution in recent years, the collection includes materials of great interest to performers and scholars. Among its highlights are the late engraver’s proof of Beethoven’s Symphony no. 9, with hundreds of markings and annotations by the composer; the original manuscript of Beethoven’s Grosse Fuge, in his arrangement for piano, 4 hands; and, the last scene of Mozart’s Le Nozze di Figaro. All of the manuscript scores and sketches have been digitized. Also available on this website are selected manuscripts from the Juilliard Library’s Peter Jay Sharp Special Collections, including scores in the Artur Rubinstein Music Collection.
Art & Art History Digital Collections
Cranach Digital Collections
The Cranach Digital Archive (cda) is an interdisciplinary collaborative research resource, providing access to art historical, technical and conservation information on paintings by Lucas Cranach (c.1472 - 1553), his sons and his workshop. The repository presently provides information on more than 1,300 paintings including c. 12,500 images and 850 pdf documents from 183 contributing institutions as well as 345 digitized and transcribed archival documents and more than 2,950 literature references.
MetPublications (from the Metropolitan Museum of Art)
MetPublications is a portal to the Met's comprehensive publishing program with 1,500 titles, including books, online publications, and Bulletins and Journals from the last five decades.
MetPublications includes a description and table of contents for most titles, as well as information about the authors, reviews, awards, and links to related Met titles by author and by theme.
