Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertation Research in Education: Searching Known Items

This guide was created to teach doctoral students to select, search, evaluate and organize their dissertation research project.

Known vs. Unknown

When you are searching for information, your search takes one of two paths.  You are searching for a 'known item' or an 'unkonwn item.' 

A known item is any part of a citation: an author, title, etc.  A bibliography would contain a list of 'known items.'

If you are searching for an unknown item, you need information about something, like attachment theory, and you are looking for citations on this topic. 

Is it a Book or Article Citation?

How can you tell the difference between a citation for a book and an article?

A BOOK citation generally has a place of publication: New York, London, Chicago, Grand Rapids & a publisher.

An article or a CHAPTER in a BOOK has the word "In" followed by the editor, title of book, etc.

An ARTICLE citation has a volume number (and/or issue number), and a date.

Search the Library Collections

Using the bibliography...search the library's collections to see if we have the book or full text of the article.

1. Determine whether the citation is for a book or article

2. See if the College Library has the item.

- Search for a book or ebook in the library catalog using the book title.

- Search for an article (print or electroinc format) using the periodical title in the library's Journal Finder.  If you find the peridical in the directory, make sure the date range of coverage includes the year needed by the citation.

- If you can not find the book in the library catalog or the journal title, consider using Interlibrary Loan.

Bibliography from Attachment theory entry

Main, M.  (2002).  Attachment theory. In A. E. Kazdin (Ed.), Encyclopedia of psychology. Washington, D.C.: American Psychological Association.

 Bibliography

Ainsworth, M. D. S. (1969). Object relations, dependency and attachment: A theoretical review of the infant-mother relationship. Child Development, 40, 969-1025.

Ainsworth, M. D. S., Bell. S. M., & Stayton, D. J. (1971). Individual differences in Strange Situation Behavior of one-year-olds. In H. R. Shaffer (Ed.), The origins of human social relations (pp. 17-57). New York: Academic Press.

Bowlby. J. (1958). The nature of the child’s tie to his mother. lnternational Journal of Psycho-Analysis, 39, 353-373.

Bowlby, J. (1969). Attachment and loss: Vol. I. Attachment. London: Hogarth Press.

Bowlby, J. (1973). Attachment and loss: VoI. 2. Separation: Anxiety and anger. New York: Basic Books.

Bowlby, J. (1980). Attachment and loss: Vol. 3. Loss: Sadness and depression. New York Basic Books.

Bowlby, J. (1988). A secure base: Parent-child attachment and healthy human development. New York: Basic Books.

Cassidy. J., & Shaver, E’. R. (Eds.). (in press). Handbook of attachment: Theory, research and clinical applications. New York: Guilford Press.

Grossmann. K. E. & Grossmann, K. (1991). Attachment quality as an organizer of emotional and behavioral responses in a longitudinal perspective. In C. M. Parkes, J. Stevenson-Hinde, & P. Marris (Eds.), Attachment across the life cycle. London: Tavistock/Routledge.

Hesse. E. & Main, M. (in press). Frightened behavior in traumatized but non-maltreating parents: Previously unexamined risk factor for offspring. Psychoanalytic Inquiry.

Hinde. R. A. & Stevenson-Hinde, J. (1990). Attachment: Biological, cultural and individual desiderata. Human Development, 33 , 62-72.

Main, M. (1991). Meta-cognitive knowledge, metacognitive monitoring, and singular (coherent) vs. multiple (incoherent) models of attachment: Findings and directions for future research. In C. M. Parkes, J. Stevenson-Hinde, & P. Marris (Eds.), Attachment across the life cycle (pp. 127-159). London: Routledge.

Main. M. (1995). Attachment: Overview, with implications for clinical work. In S. Goldberg, R. Muir, & J. Kerr (Eds.), Attachment theory: Social, development and clinical perspectives (pp. 407-474). Hillsdale, NJ: Analytic Press.

Sroufe, A. (1997). Psychopathology as an outcome of development. Development and Psychopathology, 9, 251-268.