Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Dissertation Research in Education: Dissertations

This guide was created to teach doctoral students to select, search, evaluate and organize their dissertation research project.

Proquest Dissertations and Theses A&I Database

Proquest Dissertations and Theses A&I Database

Dissertations & Theses collection that provides citations and abstracts of dissertations, from1861 to present.  If published after 1997, you will find a  24-page preview (in pdf format) of the document included in the database.

ERIC (EBSCO)

ERIC is the world's largest source of education information, containing abstracts of documents and journal articles on education research and practice, including descriptions and evaluations of programs, research reports and surveys, ...and dissertations.  To search for dissertations in ERIC you need to use Advanced Search, under Publication Types, select Dissertations/Theses (All).


Advantages.  Many of the dissertations may be full text online.  Others may be available in MC's microfiche collection.  Microfiche documents are designated by Accession Number (AN) prefix of  ED.

PsycINFO (EBSCO)

A dissertation filter is available on the results list in PsycINFO.  Do your search first, then click on Dissertation found on the left sidebar under 'All Results'. The records will give citation, subjects and abstract. 


Advantages.   PscyINFO contains information about dissertations that have been determined to be important to the field of psychology by APA.  Some may be fulltext, but all will have citation information with an abstract.

Open Access Theses and Dissertations

Open Access Theses and Dissertations provides access to over one million graduate theses and dissertations from around the world.  

NDLTD

NETWORKED DIGITAL LIBRARY OF THESES AND DISSERTATIONS (NDLTD) - provides links to dissertations and theses, many of which are available online in PDF format.


Advantages.  Many of the dissertations may be full text online. 

OBTAINING A COPY OF A DISSERTATION

  • When you find a citation to a dissertation, note the issuing institution.  Search the library online catalog of that institution.  Sometimes the dissertation will be freely available.
  • Search the web.
  • Submit an Interlibrary Loan
  • Purchase from Proquest Dissertation Express