LibGuides: Dissertation Research in Education: Articles

Periodical Research

To find articles published in periodicals (magazines, newspapers, journals, etc.), you will need to use an index or electronic database. Indexes can be multi-disciplinary (Academic Search Premier, Readers Guide to Periodical Literature) or subject specific (ERIC, PSYCInfo, SportDiscus), and can be in print or electronic format. Periodical indexes can be searched in numerous ways: by author, title of the article or periodical, by keyword or subject.

HOW TO SELECT A DATABASE OR INDEX - The library webpage organizes the databases alphabetically by title. Research guides created by librarians include suggested databases/indexes for each area along with other relevant sources. In addition, consider the coverage of the database. Database descriptions on the databases page will describe the dates of coverages and types of publications included. Print indexes may need to be consulted for dates of coverage or because additional journal titles are covered.

FULL-TEXT AVAILABLE OR CITATION/ABSTRACT ONLY? - Many research databases include the full text of the article, while others are citations/abstracts only.

LOCATING A KNOWN ARTICLE - If you are looking for a known article (you already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc.) try:

Journal Finder - Search by journal title to see if a particular journal is fulltext and to be directed to that full text content. Print periodicals are arranged alphabetically by title on the 2nd floor of the library. Some current issues can be found displayed on the 2nd Floor journal area
Do a search on the web. Although most journal articles are not available for free, sometimes you may find what you are looking for.
If you can not locate the full text in print or electronic format, request an Interlibrary Loan.

Education Databases

The College Library provides access to two multi-disciplinary databases: Academic Search Premier and Academic Universe which include the subject of education.

Subject specific databases that may be relevant include:

Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window
A collection of bibliographic and full text education journals covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education. Coverage includes all levels of education from early childhood to higher education, and all educational specialties. Education Research Complete also covers administration, policy, funding, and related social issues.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
Contains thousands of journal articles (EJ) and government documents (ED) published from 1966 forward on education (preschool through college). Many articles and documents published after 1984 have texts available on the computer. This collection of education resource materials is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
Proquest Dissertations and Theses A&I This link opens in a new window
Dissertations & Theses collection that provides citations and abstracts of dissertations, along with preview.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 50 journal titles published by APA and other allied organizations covering general psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text book chapters from 2000 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1300 psychology and psychology-related journals, including professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a collection of 452 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Coverage includes journals in business (organizational studies, organizational behavior, etc.), communication/media, criminology, education, health sciences, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, engineering, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, philosophy, and social work
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Large sociology research database that includes coverage of all related subject areas such as abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and others. This database has full text journal entries that date back to 1895 as well as books, monographs, and conference papers.