Skip to Main Content

Distance Education: Databases & Videos

This guide is designed to help online students locate and use the MC Library's online resources.

Welcome, Distance Learners!

Databases for Articles

Library Databases

Speed Library offers over 50 databases with indexed and full-text research on a wide array of subjects, many from scholarly, peer-reviewed journals. To search for articles click on a database and enter your search terms. (MC login required off campus)

Streaming Video Collections  

  • Alexander Street Press Collection
    Alexander Street Press is a collection of over 64,409 videos representing all fields and disciplines, including the social sciences, humanities, and sciences.
  • Ambrose Video 2.0 - Shakespeare Plays
    A video database that contains all the BBC productions of Shakespeare plays.
  • Films on Demand
    Films on Demand is a delivery system of a growing collection of select online films.
  • Symptom Media
    An online mental health education and training film library with over 300 mental health simulations including a DSM 5 and ICD Guided Film Collection and Assessment tools providing viewers with the training tools critical for symptom recognition. Licensed for Psychology and Counseling, Nursing, and Social Work departments.

(MC login required)

National Theatre Collection - Drama Online

National Theatre Collection - Drama Online 

Drama Online is now available to academic institutions upon request through the end of May 2020, at no cost or obligation and on an unlimited access basis.

Tips for Searching

When searching for journal articles, look at the bibliographies at the end of any articles that relate to your topic. Searching the sources used by writers and researchers is a great way to find additional sources for your own work.

If you find a citation for an article in a bibliography, you can search for that article by first looking for the journal title in Journal Finder Then look for the year, volume and issue, and article title.

Can't find the journal title, or the year you need? Submit an article request through Interlibrary Loan