History: Web & Other Resources

Keesing’s World News Archive is a web-based database comprised of a full text archive of more than 95,000 articles. It was first published from 1931-87 as Keesing’s Contemporary Archives and then as Keesing’s Record of World Events from 1987 to the present. They publish at the rate of about 150 articles per month, creating a lasting archive of original, accurate, and objective articles on the world's political, social, and economic events.

This Library of Congress resource is an open access database of over 9 million items and 100 thematic collections that embody American history and culture. Resources include written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience.

HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Through their Digital Library, you can search the digitized collection of items from over 90 partner institutions.

The Princeton University Digital Library (PUDL) is a collection of high-resolution digital images of selected materials from Princeton University Library. The materials have been chosen to serve the research and teaching needs of the Princeton University community and to showcase the distinctive collections of the Princeton University Library. Included are digital collections on topics, like Columbus Letters, Civil War in Guatemala, the Fitzgerald Collection, George Frideric Handel Collection, Japanese and Chinese Prints and Drawings, Latin American Posters, Mesoamerican Manuscripts, 15th century Printing, 19th century Sheet Music, Islamic Manuscripts, and more.

The Institute of Historical Research is one of ten member Institutes of the School of Advanced Study, part of the University of London. On their website, you will find links to their library resources and collection guides, historical research and publications sponsored by the IHR, and digital resources that focus on the history of the British Isles, like History Online which contains over 62,000 records.

The Voice of the Shuttle's mission has been "to provide a structured and briefly annotated guide to online resources that at once respects the established humanities disciplines in their professional organization and points toward the transformation of those disciplines as they interact with the sciences and social sciences and with new digital media...VoS emphasizes both primary and secondary (or theoretical) resources, and defines its audience as people who have something to learn from a higher-education, professional approach to the humanities."