LibGuides: History: Articles & Databases

How to Find Articles

Journal articles may be found either in the print journals (located on the top floor of Speed Library) or online through databases linked on the Databases page.

To find a specific article, search for the journal title in the Journal Finder to see if the library has a subscription to that journal, either in print or via a database.
The Journal Finder will also list the years available for each periodical and any full-text delay [some publishers restrict database access to their most recent issues, generally for 6-18 month periods.
If an article is under delay, you will need to find a print copy of the article either in the library's print collection or via the Interlibrary Loan Service].

Suggested Databases

For links to all databases, visit the library's Databases page. Below you'll find links to databases with content specific to the field of history.

Keesing’s World News Archive
Keesing’s World News Archive is a web-based database comprised of a full text archive of more than 114,000+ articles published from 1931 to present. They publish at the rate of about 150 articles per month, creating a lasting archive of original, accurate, and objective articles on the world's political, social, and economic events.
JSTOR
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR varies from 2 to 5 years. Some relevant journals included are: The American Historical Review (1985-2008), The Agricultural History Review (1953-2008), Central European History (1968-2012), The English Historical Review (1886-2013), History in Africa (1974-2012), International Journal of Middle Eastern Studies (1970-2012), Journal of World History (1990-2012), Journal of World Prehistory (1987-2013), The Oral History Review (1973-2012), and more.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. It has complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from over 120 publishers. Project MUSE journals of relevance to history include: The Americas [focus on Latin American history] (2000 to present), Civil War History (1955 to present), Early American Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal (2003 to present), French Historical Studies (1999 to 2004), History & Memory (1998 to present), Journal of Cold War Studies (1999 to present), Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History (2000 to present), and more.
SAGE Premier
SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences.
America: History & Life
America: History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. It provides citations and abstracts from 2,000 journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field.