LibGuides: History: Journal Articles

Finding Full-Text Articles

What if I find an article but it isn't full-text?

If the article is not full text in the database you're searching, it may appear in another database or the library may own a copy of the journal in print. To check, do the following:

Search the Journal Finder to find a journal title either in any of the library databases or in the print collection. All print journals are located on Speed Library's top floor.
- Recent issues are behind the computers,
- Older issues are bound and on the shelves by the study rooms.
If you cannot locate the full text of a journal article in print or electronic format, try requesting a copy through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Featured Journals

In the Journal Finder, you can find journals with content in specific subject areas. Linked here is a list of journals related to history. Below is a list of featured journals in the field.

The Journal of Southern History
Published by the Southern Historical Association. Articles and book reviews on all aspects of Southern United States history, and historical news and notices of interest to members.
The Journal of African History
The Journal of African History publishes articles and book reviews ranging widely over the African past, from the late Stone Age to the present. In recent years increasing prominence has been given to economic, cultural and social history.
American Historical Review
The American Historical Review (AHR) is the official publication of the American Historical Association (AHA). The AHR chooses articles that are new in content and interpretation and that make a contribution to historical knowledge. The journal also publishes approximately one thousand book reviews per year, surveying and reporting the most important contemporary historical scholarship in the discipline.

Suggested Databases

For links to all databases, visit the library's Databases page. Below you'll find links to databases with content specific to the field of history.

America: History & Life
America: History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. It provides citations and abstracts from 2,000 journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field.
JSTOR
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR varies from 2 to 5 years. Some relevant journals included are: The American Historical Review (1985-2008), The Agricultural History Review (1953-2008), Central European History (1968-2012), The English Historical Review (1886-2013), History in Africa (1974-2012), International Journal of Middle Eastern Studies (1970-2012), Journal of World History (1990-2012), Journal of World Prehistory (1987-2013), The Oral History Review (1973-2012), and more.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. It has complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from over 120 publishers. Project MUSE journals of relevance to history include: The Americas [focus on Latin American history] (2000 to present), Civil War History (1955 to present), Early American Studies: An Interdisciplinary Journal (2003 to present), French Historical Studies (1999 to 2004), History & Memory (1998 to present), Journal of Cold War Studies (1999 to present), Journal of Colonialism and Colonial History (2000 to present), and more.
SAGE Premier
SAGE Premier collection is comprised of full-text access to nearly 500 journals published by SAGE covering all academic disciplines, but specializing in Social Sciences.