Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Psychology: PSY 438

Research help in the area of Psychology.

What is an Annotated Bibliography?

An Annotated Bibliography is a collection of resources that you have used or plan to use for your research. Instead of simply listing the sources, an annotated bibliography requires you to summarize and assess the sources you have chosen. 

Annotated Bibliography entries generally consist of two parts.

-First is the citation, which in your case will be in APA format.

-Second is the annotation itself (summary and assessment of source).

Note that an annotation generally consists of a summary of the source, an assessment of the source, as well as its relevancy to your proposed topic. Annotated Bibliography entries can vary from 1-3 paragraphs depending on your assignment guidelines.

More help with Annotated Bibliographies in APA style

The Purdue Owl's APA format page shows how to format the title page and abstract.

The Purdue Owl's  sample entry  will show you how to format your entries. Be sure to scroll down, APA style is the second example.

The University of Toronto's webpage on writing Annotated Bibliographies, it takes you through the whole process starting with how to select your sources.

Cornell University provides more things to consider when writing an annotated bibliography.

Help with Research Paper

The Purdue Owl provides a detailed example for how to format a research paper in APA style