Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

KINESIOLOGY: Journals & Video Databases

Designed as a starting point for research in kinesiology, this guide contains links to resources in many formats. Use the tabs below to navigate through web sites, books, and journal databases.

Journal Databases

Subject Specific Database:

SPORTDiscus With Full Text  (Available through EBSCOhost)
Provided by the Sport Information Resource Centre, SPORTDiscus offers comprehensive, bibliographic coverage of sport, fitness and related disciplines. This database contains over 600,000 records with journal and monograph coverage going back to 1800.
‚Äč

DOAJ: Sports 

The Directory of Open Access Journals  is an online directory that indexes and provides access to quality open access journals.

 General or Related Databases:

Academic Search Complete (Available through EBSCOhost)
The world’s largest academic multi-disciplinary database, Academic Search Premier provides full text for more than 4,450 scholarly publications, including full text for more than 3,500 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage spans virtually every area of academic study and offers information dating as far back as 1975. This database is updated on a daily basis. 

CINAHL with Full Text (Available through EBSCOhost)
CINAHL, is the authoritative resource for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers. This database provides indexing and abstracting for over 1,700 current nursing and allied health journals and publications dating back to 1982, totaling over 880,000 records.

ERIC (Available through EBSCOhost)
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains more than 2,200 digests along with references for additional information and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.

Featured Open Access Journals

Food Science and Nutrtition  is a journal that holds itself to a high standard, has rigorous peer review, and rapid publication.

Journal of Nutritional Science is an international, peer-reviewed, online only, open access journal that welcomes high-quality research articles in all aspects of nutrition.

 

Video Databases

Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video (Available through Alexander Street Press)

This is an extensive collection of videos dealing with "fitness and health assessment, disease management, injury treatment, nutrition, sport science,...work-site wellness,... and much more."

Journal Finder and ILL

LOCATING A JOURNAL ARTICLE - If you are looking for a known article (you already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc.) the following should help:

  • Search the Journal Finder.
    If the journal is in electronic format, just choose the link.  If the journal is in Print format, these journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the 2nd floor of the library. Older bound issues are in the back of the 2nd floor, and more current issues are shelved by the public computer area.
  • Do a search on the web.  Although most journal articles are not available for free, sometimes you may find what you are looking for.
  • If you can not locate the full text in print or electronic format, request an interlibrary loan.

Connect Off Campus

How do I connect from off-campus?

More questions? 
Ask our reference librarian in person,
email, or call (925-3916)!

Need Your MCnet Password?