KINESIOLOGY: Books & E-Books

Professional sports is a huge industry, with much riding on the knees of even a single football player. But the playing fields are also filled with an abundance of 'weekend warriors' who value their own knees no less, and with increased participation in sports and exercise programmes, in general, comes increased risk of injury. Sports medicine is relevant not only to collegiate and professional athletes and the health professionals who treat and advise them, but also to parents and their children, amateur athletes and aging people maintaining a fitness regime. These four volumes present state-of-the-art research and evidence-based applications. The work is broad ranging, covering all aspects of sports medicine with perspectives from the medical, behavioural, and social sciences and physical education. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum with entries included from such areas as body systems, regional injuries (craniofacial, shoulder, knee and so on), special populations (female, pediatric, older athletes), sport-specific injuries, rehabilitation, nutrition, substance use and abuse, sports psychology, the team physician and more.

With more than 7,500 entries and over 165 illustrations, this dictionary of sports science covers anatomy, biomechanics, exercise physiology, nutrition, sports psychology and sports medicine.

Continuing in the steps of the first edition, Qualitative Analysis of Human Movement, Second Edition,integrates the perspectives of the major subdisciplines of kinesiology–making it the only available textbook entirely devoted to qualitative analysis. It has been thoroughly revised and updated and includes over 50 new references and even more examples of the application of qualitative analysis. Duane Knudson and Craig Morrison use a four-step model to thoroughly cover qualitative analysis in theory and history in Qualitative Analysis of Human Movement, Second Edition.Using an interdisciplinary approach, the authors lead readers through the practical applications of their model, supplementing each chapter of the text with an interactive CD-ROM that illustrates the qualitative analysis process with exercises and video clips.

Whether you work with fitness enthusiasts or competitive athletes, this resource will lead you through the key concepts of sport and exercise nutrition allowing you to assess an individual's nutrition status and develop customised nutrition plans.
NSCA's Guide to Sport and Exercise Nutrition provides valuable information and guidelines that address the nutrition needs for the broad range of clientele serviced by strength and conditioning professionals, personal trainers, and sport dietitians.

"NSCA's Guide to Program Design" offers the most current information, guidance, and protocols from respected scientists and practitioners with expertise in strength and conditioning program design. Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), this text offers strength and conditioning professionals a scientific basis for developing training programs for specific athletes at specific times of year.

"NSCA's Guide to Tests and Assessments" offers strength and conditioning professionals a one-stop resource for the best research-supported fitness and performance measures available. Created by top experts in the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA), this comprehensive text offers extensive information on which factors matter and how to evaluate them as accurately and easily as possible.

Developed by the National Strength and Conditioning Association (NSCA) and now in its fourth edition, "Essentials of Strength Training and Conditioning" is the essential text for strength and conditioning professionals and students. This comprehensive resource, created by 30 expert contributors in the field, explains the key theories, concepts, and scientific principles of strength training and conditioning as well as their direct application to athletic competition and performance.

"Running Mechanics and Gait Analysis With Online Video" is the premier resource dedicated to running mechanics and injury prevention.

Updated for its Fourth Edition with increased art and photos, this undergraduate exercise physiology textbook integrates basic exercise physiology with research studies to stimulate learning, allowing readers to apply principles in the widest variety of exercise and sport science careers. The book has comprehensive coverage, including integrated material on special populations, and a flexible organization of independent units, so instructors can teach according to their preferred approach. Each unit is designed with a consistent and comprehensive sequence of presentation: basic anatomy and physiology, the measurement and meaning of variables important to understanding exercise physiology, exercise responses, training principles, and special applications, problems, and considerations. Plowman  Smithnbsp;provides a consistently organized, comprehensive approach to Exercise Physiology with excellent supporting ancillary materials.nbsp; Its ability to relate up to date research to key concepts and integrate special populations makes this book ideal for classroom use.

The flagship title of the certification suite from the American College of Sports Medicine, ACSM's Guidelines for Exercise Testing and Prescription is a handbook that delivers scientifically based standards on exercise testing and prescription to the certification candidate, the professional, and the student. The 9th edition focuses on evidence-based recommendations that reflect the latest research and clinical information. This manual is an essential resource for any health/fitness and clinical exercise professional, physician, nurse, physician assistant, physical and occupational therapist, dietician, and health care administrator. This manual gives succinct summaries of recommended procedures for exercise testing and exercise prescription in healthy and diseased patients.

Physical Rehabilitation of the Injured Athlete is a medical reference book that equips you to apply today's hottest strategies in non-operative sports rehabilitation, so you can help your patients return to play as quickly and fully as possible. Send your players back to the field fast with the latest strategies in non-operative sports rehabilitation. Get balanced, dependable guidance on sports rehabilitation from a multidisciplinary author team that contributes perspectives from orthopaedics and sports medicine, athletic training, and physical therapy. Ensure effective treatment planning with a stronger emphasis on evidence-based practice. Master the latest with brand-new chapters on Developing Treatment Pathways, Biomechanical Implications in Shoulder and Knee Rehabilitation, Temporomandibular Rehabilitation, Thigh Rehabilitation, Gait Assessment, Functional Movement Assessment, and Plyometric Training Drills. Access the fully searchable text, downloadable image bank, and 9 online-only appendices at www.expertconsult.com. Andrews provides evidence-based guidance for sports medicine rehabilitation.