A peer reviewed journal is an academic publication from a society of scholars with articles in a specific field of study. All articles that are submitted are checked for accuracy, relevance, and logic by other scholars in that specific field. Many of the assignments for your courses will require the use of these sources.
Watch the video or read the instructions below to learn how to search and narrow down articles in our research databases.
The first step to doing a search for articles, you need to make sure that "Search articles" is selected on the library search box.
When one searches for articles from the main webpage, they are sent to a keyword search that is performed in all our EBSCO databases. In the example below, we receive over 800,000 results for climate change.
We can limit our results by selecting Scholarly (Peer Reviewed Journals) by selecting the Limit To facet on the left side of the result page.
You can use the same Limit To box to limit your search results to Full Text which means that you will only see the articles that we have PDF or HTML access to.
In addition, limiting down the type of resource, you can also limit to publication date range. It has found results from 1819 to 2022. If we limit the results from 2020-2021, that drastically limits the number of results that we get. You may want to change the date range to research a subject from a particular era or to get the most recent scholarship.
You can also limit your search by looking at the various databases that it is pulling from. In the example below, I chose to look at Greenfile since it will have the most concentrated content on the environmental aspects of climate change.
You can further narrow down your results by clicking on the Subject facet and selecting climate change. It will give the results for all items in Greenfile that have the subject heading of climate change.
To access the article, you can access the article by clicking on Find Full Text, PDF Full Text, or HTML Full Text. Find Full Text means that it is not available in our EBSCO resources BUT it is available in a resource that we have access to from another source. Clicking on that link will take you to that outside source.
