Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Level 5 Resources
Hi, welcome to the IEP 500 Subject Guide page! On this page you will find resources that should be helpful for your study of the English language. Follow the links on the left side of the page for Listening and Speaking aid, Reading and Vocabulary aid, and Writing and Grammar aid. The large section on the right is a collection of books that you can find at the library that should give you some reading practice.
IELTS Level Five Tools
British and American Short Stories by
Call Number: 428.24 P317b LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2013-09-30
Contemporary / British English These stories paint colourful pictures of life in Britain and America in the past. We meet some unusual people. There's the dreamy boy who wakes up one day to find a bird making a nest in his hair And there's the man who tries to catch a ghost.
Heart of Darkness by
Call Number: 428.24 P317h LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2008-10-07
Classic / British English Resting one night on a boat on the River Thames, Charlie Marlow tells his friends about his experiences as a steamboat captain on the River Congo. There, in the heart of Africa, his search for the extraordinary Mr Kurtz caused him to question his own nature and values and the nature and values of his society.
Invisible Man by
Call Number: 428.24 P317i LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2010-12-10
Classic / British English A stranger arrives in a small village wearing a long coat and gloves. His head is covered in bandages and dark glasses hide his eyes. The villagers are curious. Who is he? When they discover the stranger's terrible secret, they realize that they are in great danger.
Jane Eyre by
Call Number: 428.24 P317j LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2008-08-28
Classic / British English Jane Eyre, a poor orphan, grows up in misery until she becomes the governess in the house of wealthy Mr Rochester and falls in love. But mysterious events take place in the house at night, and Mr Rochester appears to be hiding a terrible secret. Can Jane even hope for happiness?
Pride and Prejudice by
Call Number: 428.24 P317p LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2008-09-23
Classic / British English Jane and Elizabeth Bennet are the oldest of five sisters in need of husbands, but it isn't easy to find the right man. Are Mr Bingley, Mr Darcy and Mr Wickham all that they seem? Will pride and prejudice ever be defeated in the search for true love?
Round the World in Eighty Days by
Call Number: 428.24 P317r LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2008-11-24
Classic / British English Phileas Fogg is living quietly in London. Then he makes a bet that he can travel around the world in eighty days. The result is a crazy, exciting race against time across Europe, Asia and America. There are many dangers along the way -- and a detective who wants to arrest him
World Folktales, Level 5 by
Call Number: 428.24 P317w LEVEL 5 IEP
Publication Date: 2008-05-09
Classic / American English These nine stories will take the reader on an exciting journey to distant cultures and times. The collection includes folktales from South America, Africa, India, China, and Europe.
Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.
Business Source Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Search Business Source Complete for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Science Direct This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is Elsevier’s leading information solution for researchers, teachers, students, health care professionals and information professionals . It combines authoritative, full-text scientific, technical and health publications with smart, intuitive functionality so that you can stay informed in your field, and can work more effectively and efficiently.
Communication and Mass Media Complete (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Communication and Mass Media Complete incorporates the content of CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields. Offers combined coverage of more than 770 titles and includes full text for over 450 journals.
PsycARTICLES (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 50 journal titles published by APA and other allied organizations covering general psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text book chapters from 2000 to present.
Can't find a database for your topic? Search the entire list of databases to find the right one for your research.