The featured books listed below may be found either in the Reference Room (as indicated) on the library's main floor or in the stacks in library's basement floor.
The Encyclopedia of World War II: A Political, Social, and Military History by
An unprecedented achievement in publishing-a multivolume encyclopedic resource, for both the general reader and specialist-on the central conflict of the 20th century, The Encyclopedia of World War II covers the entire scope of the Second World War from its earliest roots to its continuing impact on global politics and human society.
The Encyclopedia of World War I by
Featuring a wealth of new information and the work of acclaimed scholars from around the world, this monumental resource is the new standard reference on the 20th centurys most influential conflict.
Encyclopedia of European Social History by
The Encyclopedia of European Social History covers all aspects of European social history from the Renaissance to the present. This six-volume reference includes more than 230 articles, ranging from 5,000 to 10,000 words, on everything from serfdom and the economy, to witchcraft and public health. This reference provides a survey of hundreds of topics. Included are more than 700 photographs, drawings and maps. The sixth volume also includes biographies of prominent European figures and a comprehensive index.
Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present: From the Age of Segregation to the Twenty-First Century by
Focusing on the making of African American society from the 1896 "separate but equal" ruling of Plessy v. Ferguson up to the contemporary period, this encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the age of Jim Crow, the Harlem Renaissance, the Great Migration, the Brown ruling that overturned Plessy, the Civil Rights Movement, and the ascendant influence of African American culture on the American cultural landscape. Covering African American history in all areas of U.S. history and culture from 1896 to the present, the Encyclopedia contains approximately 1,200 fully cross-referenced entries that are all signed by leading scholars and experts, making this five-volume set the most reliable and extensive treatment to be found on African American history in the twentieth century. The set also contains 500 images and roughly 640 biographies, as well as an entry on each of the fifty states. In addition to its comprehensive coverage of African Americans, the Encyclopedia also contains entries about key figures who affected the lives of African Americans in particular and Americans in general. Unrivalled in breadth and scope, this is the preeminent source of information on this topic and is destined to become a trusted reference source for years to come.
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by
The original 1995 encyclopedia, an award winner from both the American Library Association (Dartmouth Certificate) and the American Historical Association, was celebrated as a landmark in the development of Latin American studies (The Americas). This new edition adds nearly 600 entirely new topics, replaces some 150 obsolete entries, and also provides substantial revisions to hundreds more. Every one of the 5,700+ entries has been reviewed for currency of content and bibliography. An entirely new illustration program features over 100 full-color photographs in addition to hundreds in black-and-white. National statistics have been conveniently tabulated for every one of Latin America's 37 countries. New content addresses research on prehistoric environments and cultures, U.S. Haitian interventions, the consequences of NAFTA and increased Mexican immigration, the troubled aftermaths of Pinochet's Chile and Fujimori's Peru, truth and reconciliation commissions, and the still-contested legacy of the Mexico City massacre of 1968. New leaders like Brazil's Lula da Silva and Venezuela's Hugo Chavez are profiled along with hundreds of other rising figures in politics, letters, and the arts. Newly commissioned master essays synthesize current knowledge on such major regional themes as Democracy in the Americas, Hemispheric Affairs, and the Hispanic Impact on the U.S. Includes full index and table of biographical subjects by profession. Edited by Jay Kinsbruner and an international team of consultants on three continents.
The history reference books located below are from the Oxford Reference Online and the Credo Reference collections. While these titles are available online, please note, this is not a comprehensive list of available titles.
The eBooks below are examples from our new Academic eBook Collection. Learn more about how to download an eBook to read on your computer or on your Apple, Android, and Kindle devices here.
Dictionary of British Military History by
From the invasion of Britain by the Danes through the battle of Hastings, Agincourt and Waterloo up to the present day, this fascinating dictionary includes entries on battles, campaigns and famous commanders, as well as ranks, regiments, uniforms and weapons. The reader will find an outline of the British army since its formation in the 17th century, together with brief histories of battles and biographies of great military leaders. A handy reference source for all levels of student or enthusiast, including the general reader of historical reference and anyone with an interest in the British military.
Georgia Civil War Manuscript Collections: An Annotated Bibliography by
This book provides historians and genealogists with a one-stop guide to every Civil War-related manuscript collection stored in Georgia's many repositories. With this guide in hand, researchers will no longer spend countless hours pouring through online catalogs, emailing archivists, and wondering if they have exhausted every lead in their pursuit of firsthand information about the war and the experiences of those who lived through and were impacted by it. In assembling the first state-specific bibliography to be compiled since the Indiana and Illinois bibliographies were assembled for the Civil War Centennial in the 1960s, David Slay has expanded the scope of this survey to include works relating to women, African Americans, and social history, as well as the letters and diaries of soldiers who fought in the war, reflecting society's evolving understanding and interest in this defining period of American life. In addition, this compilation is not confined to material produced from 1861 to 1865, but also includes collections spanning the lives of prominent Civil War figures, making it an invaluable source for biographers. Organized by institution, Georgia Civil War Manuscript Collections has many time-saving features, all designed to increase efficiency of research. Each collection description contains the title and catalog number used in the holding institution. Where possible, collection descriptions have been improved upon, providing the researcher with information beyond what is listed in the holding institution's card catalog and finding aid. It also cross-references duplicate collections that are held in two or more institutions as microfilm or photocopies. Simply put, Georgia Civil War Manuscript Collections takes the mystery out of Civil War research in Georgia.
The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture: v. 20 Social Class by
This volume of The New Encyclopedia of Southern Culture offers a timely, authoritative, and interdisciplinary exploration of issues related to social class in the South from the colonial era to the present. With introductory essays by J. Wayne Flynt and by editors Larry J. Griffin and Peggy G. Hargis, the volume is a comprehensive, stand-alone reference to this complex subject, which underpins the history of the region and shapes its future. In 58 thematic essays and 103 topical entries, the contributors explore the effects of class on all aspects of life in the South--its role in Indian removal, the Civil War, the New Deal, and the civil rights movement, for example, and how it has been manifested in religion, sports, country and gospel music, and matters of gender. Artisans and the working class, indentured workers and steelworkers, the Freedmen's Bureau and the Knights of Labor are all examined. This volume provides a full investigation of social class in the region and situates class concerns at the center of our understanding of Southern culture.
China in European Encyclopedias, 1700-1850 by
The churches of Britain contain a remarkable heritage of exquisitely embroidered vestments, and cathedrals in particular hold some of the most beautiful textiles ever produced in Europe. The history of these priestly garments and how their use developed in Britain and Europe is fascinating. This book outlines the tradition and mysticism associated with them and the role they still play in the 'theatre' of church, and shows how colour and ornament are used in the symbolism of the Christian faith. It explores the history of vestment production up to the present day, covering the practicalities of design, the sourcing of fabrics and the embroiderers themselves.
Handbook of Medieval Studies: Terms, Methods, Trends by
This interdisciplinary handbook provides extensive information about research in medieval studies and its most important results over the last decades. The handbook is a reference work which enables the readers to quickly and purposely gain insight into the important research discussions and to inform themselves about the current status of research in the field. The handbook consists of four parts. The first, large section offers articles on all of the main disciplines and discussions of the field. The second section presents articles on the key concepts of modern medieval studies and the debates therein. The third section is a lexicon of the most important text genres of the Middle Ages. The fourth section provides an international bio-bibliographical lexicon of the most prominent medievalists in all disciplines. A comprehensive bibliography rounds off the compendium. The result is a reference work which exhaustively documents the current status of research in medieval studies and brings the disciplines and experts of the field together.