Practice finding keywords and synonyms and using these in a database to search for sources.
-Credit: Toni Carter, Delany Bulligner, Auburn Online - Auburn University
A database is a searchable index of journal articles. Databases can be subject specific or multidisciplinary. Databases use a special search language to bring back the most relevant results to your search. Use limits to search only scholarly or peer-reviewed articles, narrow down subjects, languages, or dates.
Leland Speed Library has access to over 40+ electronic databases that provide information on a wide range of subject matters. These databases are provided to you for free through the library. You may have to log in with your MC username and credentials if accessing from off-campus.
Google Scholar is a free, online search engine for research articles, conference proceedings, and books. Search Google Scholar as you would Google. While Google Scholar covers a wide range of topics, it is by no means comprehensive. Additionally, there is no method for limiting to scholarly or peer-reviewed sources. You as the researcher must determine the quality of the information you are using.
Use the library catalog to search for monographs or scholarly books. You can search and check out books from MC Library. You can utilize special searching and limits to narrow down your results in the library catalog. Check for call-numbers so you can locate the book(s) in the stacks.
Getting started is often the hardest part of starting a research project. Use the steps below to help you develop an effective search strategy.