U RESEARCH - MC's QUALITY ENHANCEMENT PLAN (QEP): IL Progression Across the Curriculum

U Research Objectives and Student Learning Outcomes

ENG 102

 Examples of introductory concepts

Gateway/Threshold Course–Majors

 Examples of learning concepts, in addition to introductory concepts

Capstone Course – Majors

Examples of learning concepts, in addition to introductory concepts and gateway concepts

1.     Determine the nature and extent of information needed

a. Identify and develop a topic into a manageable focus

* Select a topic and the type of information needed

* Narrow or broaden the focus so that it is manageable and appropriate to the assignment's criteria

* Use materials such as print or electronic encyclopedias to get a background knowledge of the topic and to identify related concepts

* Articulate the research question or thesis statement within the context of the discipline

* Use discipline specific background sources to explore possible research topics

* Develop a hypothesis or thesis statement according to discipline guidelines - possibly an original research question that might contribute to the body of knowledge in the discipline

*  Use materials in prior coursework or in clinical/internship experiences to identify research topics

b. Identify a variety of types and formats of potential sources for information

*  Select the best sources of information as appropriate for the information need or the assignment (books, e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers, Internet sources, etc.)

*  Identify the purpose, audience, and potential use of possible information resources (popular vs. scholarly, current vs. historical, primary vs. secondary

*  Use interlibrary loan if necessary to obtain information beyond the library resources

* Differentiate between primary & secondary sources, recognizing how their use & importance vary with each discipline

* Recognize disciplinary resources outside MC Library 

*  Combine  existing information with original experimentation and/or analysis to produce new information

* Construct  information  with raw data from primary sources

* Expand research by visiting archival libraries or special collections,  using special collections, surveys, or interviews

Examples of evidence:  Well formulated thesis statement or hypothesis, with all elements as outlined in the assignment; sources that are of appropriate quantity and type of sources; Identification of primary sources when assignment requires

2.  Access needed information efficiently and effectively

a. Construct and implement effectively designed research strategies using appropriate methods or information retrieval systems

* Develop an effective search strategy to locate books, journals, magazines & newspaper articles, using synonyms, Boolean operators, etc.

* Create synonyms and alternate ways to search for a topic

* Select the most appropriate information retrieval systems for the need (aggregated journal or magazine databases, library catalog, newspaper databases)

* Begin to use discipline specific research methodologies (surveys, interviews, fieldwork, experiments) and & resources (core research databases for the discipline)

* Identify some of the core sources of information in the field (scholarly journals, professional journals, subject experts, etc.)

* Use discipline specific terminology (controlled vocabulary)  to access materials

* Use special features of subject databases, such as searching for research reports or searching by NAICS code

* Select the most appropriate research for the information need (experimentation, interview, patient assessment, analysis of performance, analysis of print or virtual information)

* Recognize  that research is a recursive process & evaluates results to see if additional resources or investigative methods are needed

b.    Retrieve information using a variety of methods and manage the information and its sources

* Demonstrate evidence that sources were physically or virtually retrieved (bibliography, reference list, etc.)

* Develop a plan for managing results

* Consider a possible need to preserve the information for later use (research log, annotated bib, preservation of ephemeral material or web pages, preservation of lab results, recording/indexing interviews)

* Effectively use special resources such as datasets, census information, business case studies 

Examples of evidence:  Appropriate sources used, from a variety of information retrieval systems; Use of a research log or lab report to document research steps; Preservation of lab results; Preservation and indexing of interviews

3.  Evaluate information and its sources critically and incorporate selected information into his or her knowledge base

a. Evaluate information and its sources using appropriate criteria

* Evaluate print & web sources by using criteria such as authority, timeliness, relevance, accuracy, and purpose

*Evaluate sources for relevance to the topic or research question

* Evaluate quantity and quality of sources to determine if additional information should be utilized.  Revise or expand search strategy when needed.

* Investigate author credentials by using reviews or biographical sources

* Use review tools to evaluate sources (book reviews, disciplinary journals, etc.)

* Begin to examine information for its contradictions, biases, value added or unique characteristics

* Recognize that information may reflect the point of view of the publisher, research sponsor, or the cultural/geographic context

*  Test hypotheses or theories with discipline appropriate techniques

* Evaluate research methods within studies

*Identify limitations of research studies

b. Identify main ideas and their potential relevance, summarizing and synthesizing key ideas

*  Identify main ideas, interrelationships among ideas, or contradictions

*  Draw conclusions from information gathered

*  Develop a deeper understanding of the information through discourse with others

*  Use technology to study the interaction of ideas & other phenomena (spreadsheets, multimedia projects, etc.)

*  Combine new information with existing knowledge to generate new theories

*  Observe or discuss the information with subject experts or practitioners to deepen understanding

Examples of evidence:  Annotated bibliography, with main ideas identified and articulation as to strengths (or weaknesses) of the source; Literature review.  

4.  Individually or as a member of a group, use information effectively to accomplish a specific purpose

a. Apply new & prior information to the planning and creation of a product or performance

*  Organize the content in a manner that supports the purposes & format of the product or performance

 * Communicate to an audience with some subject specialization

* Apply knowledge to service learning opportunities

 *Integrate information gathered with existing research

* Contribute to disciplinary conferences, publications, or research symposia

b. Communicate the product or performance effectively and clearly to others

*  Communicate clearly with a style that supports the purpose of the product or performance

*  Recognize that information is presented in various formats according to certain disciplines

*  Select the most appropriate medium & format for the product or performance (text, images, etc)

Examples of evidence:  Product or performance prepared and communicated according to expectations of assignment; Effective technology used to communicate the product

5.  Understand many of the economic, legal, and social issues surrounding the use of information and access and use information ethically and legally

a. Acknowledge sources and use information following the conventions of a particular discipline

*  Acknowledge sources according to the prescribed documentation style & know what constitutes plagiarism

*  Discern when to include verbatim material & quote it appropriately

*  Use the documentation and publication style recognized by the discipline to attribute sources of information.

*  Become familiar with ethical and legal issues specific to the discipline (HIPAA requirements, computer security issues, human subjects research requirements)

*  Apply an understanding of privacy and security issues relevant to the discipline

b.    Demonstrate an understanding of university policies regarding plagiarism, academic integrity and use of campus networks and information resources

*  Become familiar with institutional policies regarding plagiarism, academic honesty & use of network resources

*  Demonstrate an understanding of intellectual property of others by the proper use of images or music

*  Follow campus guidelines for file sharing and network use

*  Demonstrate an understanding of intellectual property & proper use of copyrighted materials.

Examples of evidence:  Consistent & properly formatted bibliography and in-text citations; Appropriate use and attribution of images; Evidence that procedures and requirements pertaining to security, privacy, and research were followed