Writing Center: Experimental Research Papers

• Title page
  • Answers the question of “What is this paper about and who wrote it?”
  • Located on the first page of the paper 
  • Includes the title of the paper, name(s) of the author(s), and institutional affiliation
    • A professional paper also includes the author's note
      • The author’s note acknowledges any support that the authors received from others
    • A student paper also includes the course number and name, instructor’s name, and assignment due date
  • Contains a title that summarizes the purpose and content of the research study and engages the audience 
• Abstract 
  • No longer than 250 words
  • Provides an overview of the study
    • Summarizes important background information, the research questions and/or hypothesis, methods, key findings, and implications of the findings
• Introduction 
  • Explains what the topic of the research is and why the topic is worth studying
  • Includes a Literature Review
    • Summarizes and discusses prior research conducted on the topic 
    • Identifies unresolved issues and gaps in past research that the current research will address
    • Ends with an overview of the current research study, including how the independent and dependent variables, the research questions or hypotheses, and the objective of the research 
• Methods
  • Explains how the research study was conducted 
  • Typically includes 3 sections: Participants, Materials, and Procedure
  • Describes the participants/subjects that were involved 
    • Includes characteristics of the subjects, how the subjects were selected and recruited, how their anonymity was protected, and what feedback was provided to the participants
  • Includes an explanation of materials/instruments used
    • Describes any equipment, surveys, tests, questionnaires, informed consent forms, and observational techniques 
  • Details the procedure of the study 
    • Describes the independent and dependent variables, the type of research design, and how the data was collected
• Results 
  • Explains what results were found in the research study 
  • Describes the data that was collected and the results of statistical tests 
• Discussion 
  • Explains the significance of the results 
  • Describes how these results relate to the research questions and hypotheses 
    • Accepts or denies the hypotheses 
  • Details the implications of these findings 
  • Addresses the limitations of the study and areas for future research 
• References
  • Includes all sources that were mentioned in the research study 
  • Adheres to APA citation styles
• Tables and Figures 
  • Includes all tables and/or figures that were used in the research study 
  • Each table and figure is placed on a separate page 
  • Tables are included before figures
  • Begins with a bolded, centered header such as “Table 1”
• Appendix 
  • Appends all forms, surveys, tests, etc. that were used in the study 
  • Only includes documents that were referenced in the Methods section 
  • Each entry is placed on a separate page 
  • Begins with a bolded, centered header such as “Appendix A”

• Select a topic that you are interested in 
  • Initial interest will motivate you to complete your study 
• Create a clear research question, hypothesis, or thesis statement 
  • Your entire study will be centered around this question or statement 
• Search for reputable sources to base your study on 
  • Use only verifiable sources that provide accurate information about your topic 
• Do an ample amount of research before you conduct your study 
  • You need to thoroughly understand the field of study your topic is on to help you recognize the gap your research will fill and the significance of your results
• As you do research, identify the gap in previous research 
  • This will help you identify what you should study and what the significance of your study will be 
• Create an outline before you begin writing to help organize your thoughts and direct you in your writing 
• Cite your sources in-text and on the reference page as you write 
  • This will prevent you from losing the source or forgetting to cite the source 
• Work on one section at a time, rather than trying to complete multiple sections at once
• While you conduct the research study, write down every action and step you take 
  • This information can be easily referred to as your write your various sections 
• Work from general to specific throughout the entire process 
  • When conducting your research, working general to specific will help you narrow your topic and fully understand the field your topic is in 
  • When writing your literature review, writing from general to specific will help the audience understand your overall topic and the narrow focus of your research 
• Anytime you find a source that may be useful, write the source down 
  • This will prevent you from losing sources you may need later 
• Incorporate correct APA formatting as you write, rather than changing the formatting at the end of the writing process 

Title Page

• If the paper is a student paper, it contains the title of the project, the author’s name(s), the instructor's name, course number and name, and assignment due date
• If the paper is a professional paper, it includes the title of the paper, the author’s name(s), the institutional affiliation, and the author note
• Begins on the first page of the paper
• The title is typed in upper and lowercase letters, four spaces below the top of the paper, and written in boldface 
• Other information is separated by a space from the title

Title (found on title page)

• Informs the audience about the purpose of the paper 
• Captures the attention of the audience 
• Accurately reflects the purpose and content of the research paper 

Abstract 

• Labeled as “Abstract”
• Begins on the second page 
• Provides a short, concise summary of the content of the research paper 
• Includes background information necessary to understand the topic 
• Background information demonstrates the purpose of the paper
• Contains the hypothesis and/or research questions addressed in the paper
• Has a brief description of the methods used 
• Details the key findings and significance of the results
• Illustrates the implications of the research study 
• Contains less than 250 words

Introduction 

• Starts on the third page 
• Includes the title of the paper in bold at the top of the page
• Explains what the topic of the research is and why the topic is worth studying
• Contains a clear statement of the problem that the paper sets out to address 
• Places the research paper within the context of previous research on the topic 
• Explains the purpose of the research study and what you hope to find
• Describes the significance of the study 
• Details what new insights the research will contribute
• Concludes with a brief description of what information will be mentioned in the literature review

Literature Review

• Labeled as “Literature Review”
• Presents a general description of the problem area 
• Defines any necessary terms 
• Discusses and summarizes prior research on the selected topic 
• Identifies any unresolved issues or gaps in research that the current research plans to address
• Concludes with a summary of the current research study, including the independent and dependent variables, the research questions or hypotheses, and the objective of the research  

Methods

• Labeled as “Methods”
• Efficiently explains how the research study was conducted 
• Appropriately divided into sections
• Describes the characteristics of the participants 
• Explains how the participants were selected 
• Details how the anonymity of the participants was protected 
• Notes what feedback the participants will be provided 
• Describes all materials and instruments that were used 
• Mentions how the procedure was conducted and data collected
• Notes the independent and dependent variables 
• Includes enough information that another researcher could duplicate the research 

Results 

• Labeled as “Results”
• Describes the data was collected
• Explains the results of statistical tests that were performed
• Omits any analysis or discussion of the implications of the study 

Discussion 

• Labeled as “Discussion”
• Describes the significance of the results 
• Relates the results to the research questions and/or hypotheses
• States whether the hypotheses should be rejected or accepted 
• Addresses limitations of the study, including potential bias, confounds, imprecision of measures, and limits to generalizability
• Explains how the study adds to the knowledge base and expands upon past research

References

• Labeled as “References”
• Correctly cites sources according to APA formatting 
• Orders sources alphabetically
• All sources included in the study are cited in the reference section 

Table and Figures (optional)

•  Each table and each figure is placed on a separate page 
• Tables and figures are included after the reference page
• Tables are included before figures
• Tables and figures are correctly labeled
• Each table and figure begins with a bolded, centered header such as “Table 1,” “Table 2,”

Appendix (optional) 

• Any forms, surveys, tests, etc. are placed in the Appendix
• All appendix entries are mentioned in the Methods section 
• Each appendix begins on a new page
• Each appendix begins with a bolded, centered header such as “Appendix A,” “Appendix B”