Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Research 101: Find Articles

A guide to help you develop good research skills!


 

Find Articles

Locate a Journal Article 
If you are looking for an article and already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc., 
the following should help:

  • Search the Journal Finder.  
         -‚Äč Electronic format, just choose
          the link. 


         - Print journals are arranged
          alphabetically by title on the
          library's 2nd floor. 


     
  • Search the web. While most journal articles are not available for free, you can occasionally find what you are looking for.
     
  • If you cannot locate the full text in print or electronic format, request an interlibrary loan.

Use a Library Database, not Google

Article Formats

Depending on the database you are using, articles may be displayed in different formats:

  • Index:
         Includes only the article’s citation information (e.g. author, title, date, volume, etc.).
         Neither a summary, nor the full-text of the article are available.

     
  • Abstract:
         Includes the article’s citation information and a brief summary of the article's
         content. Abstracts do not include the full-text article.

     
  • Full-text:
         Includes an electronic copy of the actual article. Depending on the database, the
         article may be available in HTML format, .pdf format (displays the article as it
         originally appeared in the magazine with graphics and pictures), or both.


 

What is a database?

In libraries, databases are a searchable collection of published information from a variety of sources, such as academic journals, magazines, government documents, essays, or multimedia.

Choosing a Database

Article databases offer access to magazine, journal, and newspaper articles via the Internet.

For help identifying the most appropriate database for your topic/subject:

  • Consult the database descriptions on the Library's Database page.
     
  • Look for a LibGuide that covers your subject area or topic.
     
  • Watch this Video on selecting the appropriate database.