LibGuides: Political Science: Journal Articles

Finding Full-Text Articles

What if I find an article but it isn't full-text?

If the article is not full text in the database you're searching, it may appear in another database or the library may a copy of the journal in print. To check, do the following:

Search the Journal Finder to find a journal title either in any of the library databases or in the print collection. All print journals are located on Speed Library's top floor [recent issues are behind the computers; older issues are bound and in the shelves by the study rooms.]
If you cannot locate the full text of a journal article in print or electronic format, try requesting a copy through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Featured Journals

In the Journal Finder, you can to find journals with content in specific subject areas. Linked here is a list of periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers) relating to the area of political science. Below is a list of featured journals in the field.

American Journal of Political Science
The AJPS publishes research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory. It is the official publication of the Midwest Political Science Association.
The American Political Science Review
The American Political Science Review (APSR) is the longest running publication of the American Political Science Association. This preeminent journal features research from all fields of political science and contains an extensive book review section of the discipline.
Comparative Political Studies
Comparative Political Studies offers scholarly work on comparative politics at both the cross-national and intra-national levels. Journal articles discuss innovative work on comparative methodology, theory, and research from around the world with important implications for the formation of domestic and foreign policies.
Peace & Change
Cosponsored by the Peace History Society and the Peace and Justice Studies Association (PJSA), Peace & Change publishes scholarly and interpretive articles on the achievement of a peaceful, just, and humane society. Topics include peace movements and activism, internationalism, economic development, the legacy of imperialism, and the post-Cold War upheaval.

Suggested Databases

For links to all databases, visit the MC Library's Databases page. Below you'll find links to databases with content specific to the field of political science.

Keesing's World News Archive
Keesing's publishes monthly articles on current events around the globe. Additionally,they have an extensive archive of over 114,000+ articles published since 1931.
JSTOR
A database of back issues of core journals in the humanities, social sciences and sciences. The gap between the most recently published issue and the date of the most recent issue available in JSTOR is from 2 to 5 years. Some journals included are: American Journal of Political Science (1973+), American Political Science Review (1906+), British Journal of Political Science (1971+), Comparative Politics (1968+), Foreign Policy (1970+), International Affairs, Journal of Politics (1939+), etc.
Project MUSE
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community. It has complete, full-text versions of scholarly journals from over 120 publishers. Project MUSE journals of relevance to political science include: Human Rights Quarterly, Journal of Democracy, SAIS Review, and World Politics. Coverage usually includes the most current 5 years of the publication.
LexisNexis
provides access to the full text of thousands of publications, including national and international newspapers, popular and general-interest magazines, economics and trade journals, company financial reports, legal cases and law journals, medical and health sources, and the Public Opinion Online database, produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
America: History & Life
America: History and Life covers the history of the United States and Canada from pre-history to the present. It provides citations and abstracts from 2,000 journals. All aspects of historical inquiry are represented: diplomatic, ecclesiastical, agricultural, cultural, economic, political, military and others. The index also provides citations to book and media reviews from about 100 journals and references to abstracts of dissertations in the field.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.