Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Reference sources include dictionaries, almanacs, encyclopedias, and more. They provide basic information about a subject, person, or idea. Speed Library has access to both print and online reference sources.
- Print reference titles: They are available in the Reference Room on the library's first floor. To search these works, conduct an Advanced Search in MICAL for your topic in one search box and the word "reference" in another.
- Online reference titles: use the links below to search the library's reference sources databases [Oxford Reference or Credo Reference] or the online databases [Project Gutenberg, Bartleby, & The Complete Works of Shakespeare] which contain many out-of-copyright literary works.
Oxford Reference Online
The Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection provides easily searchable, full text access to more than 100 reference titles, including 46 literature titles, like An A-Z Guide to Shakespeare, The Concise Oxford Companion to African American Literature, The Concise Oxford Companion to American Literature, A Dictionary of Critical Theory, and more.
Project Gutenberg offers over 42,000 free ebooks, including epub books and kindle books, in a variety of languages. You can download the ebooks or read them online.
Bartleby offers unlimited access to reference books, poetry, fiction and non-fiction material in the public domain. Featured texts include The Holy Bible: King James Version, novels by Emily Dickinson, poems by Robert Frost, and Strunk's Elements of Style.
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare
The Complete Works of William Shakespeare site is hosted by MIT and includes all of Shakespeare's writings divided into comedies, tragedies, histories, and poetry.
Literature Reference @ Speed
A Dictionary of Literary Symbols by This is the first dictionary of symbols to be based on literature, rather than 'universal' psychological archetypes, myths, or esoterica. Michael Ferber has assembled nearly two hundred entries clearly explaining and illustrating the literary symbols that we all encounter (such as swan, rose, moon, gold), along with hundreds of cross-references and quotations. The Dictionary concentrates on English literature, but its entries range widely from the Bible and classical authors to the twentieth century, taking in American and European literature. Its informed style and rich references will make this book an essential tool not only for literary and classical scholars, but for all students of literature.
Call Number: Ebook
Allusions & Characters @ Speed