LibGuides: Communication: Articles & Journals

Article Databases

Databases for Communication

Visit our Databases page for a complete list.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 387 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.  
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Backfiles of journal articles all available in full image in the humanities, the social sciences, and the sciences
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of thousands of publications, including national and international newspapers, popular and general-interest magazines, economics and trade journals, company financial reports, legal cases and law journals, medical and health sources, and the Public Opinion Online database, produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 50 journal titles published by APA and other allied organizations covering general psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text book chapters from 2000 to present.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues
Sage Premier Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes a collection of 452 peer-reviewed, full-text journals. Coverage includes journals in business (organizational studies, organizational behavior, etc.), communication/media, criminology, education, health sciences, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, anthropology, economics, engineering, gender studies, geography, history, linguistics, philosophy, and social work

Tips for Searching

As you're looking for journal articles in the databases, look at the bibliographies at the end of articles that relate to your topic. Searching the sources of the author is a great way to find additional sources for your own work.

If you find a citation for an article in a bibliography, you can search for that article by first looking for the journal title in Journal Finder. Then look for the year, volume and issue, and article title.

Can't find the journal title, or the year you need? Submit an article request through Interlibrary Loan

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the specific book or article you need?

Order it through our Interlibrary Loan service (ILL). Faculty, staff, and currently enrolled graduate and undergraduate students can request materials not owned by Speed Library.

Books are usually loaned free of charge, but loan fees can range from postage costs to $25, depending on the policies of the lending library. Many libraries in the state and region have ILL reciprocal agreements concerning charges and no fees or photocopy charges are levied. Speed Library does not charge for this service to its borrowers.