Skip to main content

English Education & English Writing: Articles

Where to start

Journal articles may be found either in the print journals located on the top floor of Speed Library or online through databases linked on the Databases page.

  • If you have a specific article you want to findsearch for the journal title in the Journal Finder to see if the library has a subscription to that journal, either in print or via a database.
     
  • The Journal Finder will also list the years available for each periodical and any full-text delay [some publishers restrict database access to their most recent issues, generally for 6-18 month periods.
     
  • If an article is under delay, you will need to find a print copy of the article either in the library's print collection or via the Interlibrary Loan Service].

How to find full-text articles

What if I find an article but it isn't full-text?

If the article is not full text in the database you're searching, it may appear in another database or the library may a copy of the journal in print. To check, do the following:

  1. Search the Journal Finder to find a journal title either in any of the library databases or in the print collection. All print journals are located on Speed Library's top floor [recent issues are behind the computers; older issues are bound and in the shelves by the study rooms.]
     
  2. If you cannot locate the full text of a journal article in print or electronic format, try requesting a copy through the Interlibrary Loan service.

Useful Databases

For a complete list of databases, visit the library's Databases page. 

Below you'll find links to related databases.