To access all library journals, search the library's Journal Finder. Use the 'search box' to find individual journal titles or see a list relating to the areas of Sociology and Social Work.
If the journal is owned by the library in either print or microform format, it will be found on the library 2nd floor.
How do I connect from off-campus?
More questions?
Ask our reference librarian in person, email, or call (925-3916)!
Need Your MyMC Password?
For a listing of all databases, visit the MC Library's Databases page.
Recommended Databases:
SocINDEX With Full Text
Large sociology research database that includes coverage of all related subject areas such as abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and others.
Academic Search Complete
Provides full text for more than 3,500 scholarly publications (journals, magazines, and newspapers) with indexing and abstracts from over 4,500 of the publications. This database is updated on a daily basis.
America: History & Life
Index (with some full text) to the history of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. The database is useful to history students as well as disciplines such as sociology, Christian studies, and political science.
ERIC
Contains thousands of journal articles (EJ) and government documents (ED) published from 1966 forward on education (preschool through college). Many articles and documents published after 1984 have texts available on the computer. This collection of education resource materials is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education.
JSTOR
Journal archive of titles in the arts, botany, business, ecology, general science, history, mathematics, and the social sciences. Many journal runs go back to the 19th century and before with subject coverage going back to the Medieval period and up to within 5 years of the present.
LexisNexis
Multidisciplinary database with full text articles. Sources in LexisNexis include newspapers, general magazines and journals, medical information, news transcripts, federal and state legal codes and information, business information, corporate profiles, SEC documents, and country profiles.
Project Muse
Project MUSE includes full-text journal articles covering the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, and economics.
The eBooks available in the Speed Library collection do not require eBook readers and can be viewed on any computer. There are several different ways to locate and access eBooks in Speed Library.