These books may be found either in the Reference Room (as indicated) on the library main floor or the main collection in the library basement.
Black's Law Dictionary by
This comprehensive law dictionary contains more than 50,000 terms and includes definitions of more than 1,000 law-related abbreviations and acronyms. More than 7,500 terms new to this edition include bioweapon, gazump, hacker, mommy track, unperson and zero-tolerance law.
Encyclopedia of the American Legislative System by
The Encyclopedia contains articles on a range of topics that provide an understanding of the federal and state legislatures of the U.S. Coverage includes the electoral process, committees, rules, procedures, and powers from Colonial times to the present.
Legal Research: how to find & understand the law by
Legal research made simple! If you're searching for information in a real or virtual law library as a paralegal, law student, legal assistant, journalist, or lay person, finding and accessing the laws that you need to read can be a challenge. Turn to Legal Research, which outlines a systematic method to find answers and get results. In plain, readable English, Attorney Stephen Elias explains, with plenty of examples and instructions, how to read and understand statues, regulations and cases . evaluate cases for their value as precedent . use all the basic tools of legal research . practice what you've learned with "hands-on, library exercises, as well as hypothetical research problems and solutions. This easy-to-use and understand book has been adopted as a text in many law schools and paralegal programs. This edition has been condensed to be more readable and includes an expanded discussion on the use of new legal research tools on the web.
Legal Analysis and Writing for Paralegals by
Legal Analysis and Writing, third edition, provides the student with in-depth knowledge of the fundamentals of legal analysis and writing, the operation of the elements of the fundamentals in the analysis and writing process, and the manner in which the process guides and assists the student in the production of a finished product, such as an interoffice research memorandum. The text is national in scope and designed for students who have completed introductory legal assistant courses. The focus of the text is on the legal analysis and writing process. The text is divided into three sections, the first of which presents an overview of the analysis process and the basic legal principles involved in that process. The second section provides in-depth coverage of the elements and tools used in the analysis and writing process, while the third section focuses on the application of the principles presented in the previous sections. It also addresses the drafting of legal correspondence, legal research memoranda, and court briefs. This complete text is enhanced by such features as a corresponding website, a student activity CD, online references, key points, and examples.
NALA Manual for Paralegals and Legal Assistants by
Succeed on the job--and in your course--and prepare for the Certified Paralegal examination with the NALA Manual. More than 100 leading authorities with a wide range of experience in legal disciplines and management have contributed to this comprehensive manual since it was introduced in 1976. Covering all the skills required of paralegals today, the updated manual includes a collection of successful solutions to actual assignments accomplished by working paralegals nationwide.These proven techniques and procedures can be used as starting points from which you can make changes, adaptations, and modifications when you encounter similar situations on the job.
A Constitutional History of the U. S. Supreme Court by 
Career Opportunities in Politics, Government, and Political Activism by Do you have an idea for a book that may be helpful to students, faculty, or specific classes?
To suggest a book for consideration for purchase, please fill out the form here.
Search MICAL for library books, journals and media material located at Mississippi College:
The following Subject Headings can be used with the Subject Search to locate books in the online catalog. Books listed may be found in Speed Library or the MC Law School Library. To get a listing of ONLY books found in Speed Library, click the 'Limit this Search' button and choose 'Speed' from drop-down menu titled 'Where Item is Located.'
The Leland Speed library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The general collection is located on the basement level floor. Below is a list of some of the Dewey Decimal class numbers related to Paralegal Studies.
|
340 Law |
These reference eBooks are part of the Oxford Reference Online Premium collection. If off-campus, you will be prompted to log-on using your MyMC username and password.
