The Leland Speed library collection is cataloged according to the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The general collection is located on the basement level floor. Below is a list of some of the Dewey Decimal class numbers related to the field of criminal justice.
Dewey Guide
| 323 | Civil & Political Rights |
| 328 | The Legislative Process |
| 340 | Law |
| 345 | Criminal Law |
| 348 | Law (Statutes), regulations, cases |
| 352.2 | Police |
| 353 |
Public Administration of US Federal & State Governments |
| 355 | Military Science |
| 363.1 | Public Safety Programs |
| 364 | Criminology |
| 365 | Penal & Related Institutions |
Location Guide
Speed/Basement Stacks: Basement area. The basement collection or "stacks" include most of Speed Library's circulating books (books that can be checked out).
Speed/Fiction: In the very back of the basement annex, last range of shelves & to the right of the study rooms. Fiction books can be checked out.
LRC (Learning Resource Center): First floor in the Teaching & Learning Center (TLC), back of the building by the art gallery. Materials in the LRC (CDs, DVDs, musical scores) can be checked out.
Speed/Reserves: Part of the LRC, first floor. Reserves can be checked out for a few hours at a time & are restricted to in-house use only.
Speed/Reference Room: Main floor quiet room, to the right of the circulation desk. Reference materials can only be used in-house and cannot be checked out. Library copiers & scanners can be used to reproduce sections of reference materials, per copyright restrictions.
Speed/Curriculum Lab: Part of the Teaching & Learning Center (TLC) in the back of the library.
Speed/Browsing: Main floor, single range of shelves in the hallway between the Reference Room & the LRC. These are popular fiction books and can be checked out.
Speed/MC Collection: Third floor, in the MC Archives. The MC Collection includes MC official publications, other materials written by MC faculty and alumni, and items written about MC. These items can only be used in-house and cannot be checked out.
Speed/MBHC: Third floor, in the Mississippi Baptist Historical Commission. This collection contains primary and secondary sources relating to Mississippi Baptist history.
Law Library: Located in downtown Jackson. Students, faculty, & staff on the MC main campus can check out and/or request items from the Law Library.
Search MICAL for library books, journals and media material:
The following Subject Headings can be used with the Subject Search to locate books in the MC Library:
You are also search for eBooks in our new Academic eBook Collection using the Subject Heading and keyword search links below. Learn more about how to download an eBook to read on your computer or on your Apple, Android, and Kindle devices here.
Do you have an idea for a book that
may be helpful to students, faculty, or specific classes?
Make suggestions by filling out the form here.