LibGuides: Administration of Justice: Journal Articles

How to find full-text articles

If the article is not full text in the database, it may appear in another database or the library may have it in print. To check, do the following:

Search for the periodical title (the name of the magazine, journal, or newspaper) in the Journal Finder to see if it's in any of the library databases or in the print collection. All print journals are located on Speed Library's top floor.
If you cannot locate the full text of a journal article in print or electronic format, you can request a copy of the article be emailed to you via the interlibrary loan service.

Featured Journals

American Journal of Criminal Justice
Focuses on criminal justice topics & issues, including the interplay between system components, problems & solutions, innovative practices, policy development, and evaluative research.
Online Access: SocINDEX 1984 to present
Applied Psychology in Criminal Justice
Examines the intersection of psychology and criminal justice.
Online Access: SocINDEX - Full text access: 2007 to present; bibliographic records: 2005 to present.
Crime and Delinquency
Focuses on issues and concerns that impact the criminal justice system, including the social, political and economic contexts of criminal justice, as well as the victims, criminals, courts and sanctions.
Online Access: Sage Journals - 1998 to present
Homeland Security Today magazine
A free online magazine that focuses on homeland & national security community and industry topics and issues, problems and solutions, programs and policies, and departments and agencies. It features sections like Opinion & Politics, Emergency Preparedness, CYBERCOM and Border Security.
Access: Free online
The Police Chief
The professional voice of law enforcement.
Print Access: The library print bound copies of v.52 : no.1 (Jan. 1985) through v.77 : no.12 (Dec. 2010). Unbound copies run through v.81 : no. 8 (August 2014). Location: top floor of Speed Library.

Useful Databases

The following databases contain articles and journals relevant to the field of criminal justice. For a complete list of databases, visit the MC Databases page.

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 50 journal titles published by APA and other allied organizations covering general psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text book chapters from 2000 to present.
PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts over 1300 psychology and psychology-related journals, including professional and academic literature in psychology, medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, and linguistics.
SocINDEX This link opens in a new window
Large sociology research database that includes coverage of all related subject areas such as abortion, anthropology, criminology, criminal justice, cultural sociology, demography, economic development, ethnic & racial studies, gender studies, marriage & family, politics, religion, rural sociology, social psychology, social structure, social work, sociological theory, sociology of education, substance abuse, urban studies, violence, welfare, and others. This database has full text journal entries that date back to 1895 as well as books, monographs, and conference papers.