Skip to Main Content

PHILOSOPHY: Journals & Databases

Designed as a starting point for researchers in philosophy, this guide contains links to resources in many formats. Use the tabs below to navigate through books, journal databases, and web sites.

Journals @ Speed Library

To access all library journals, search the library A to Z Journal List.  Use the 'search box' to find individual journal titles or see a list relating to the area of Philosophy.


If the journal is owned by the library in either print or microform format, it will be found on the library 2nd floor. 

Journal & Electronic Book Databases

General or Related Databases

Credo Reference (Philosophy)

JSTOR Journal Storage Project

NetLibrary (E-books)

Oxford Reference Online Premium
(Religion &  Philosophy Page)  Provides easily searchable, full text access to reference titles (Oxford Press)

Project Muse

Find Articles

LOCATING A JOURNAL ARTICLE - If you are looking for a known article (you already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc.) the following should help:

  • Search the Journal Finder.
    If the journal is in electronic format, just choose the link.  If the journal is in Print format, these journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the 2nd floor of the library. Older bound issues are in the back of the 2nd floor, and more current issues are shelved by the public computer area.
  • Do a search on the web.  Although most journal articles are not available for free, sometimes you may find what you are looking for.
  • If you can not locate the full text in print or electronic format, request an interlibrary loan.

Connect Off Campus

How do I connect from off-campus?

More questions? 
Ask our reference librarian in person, email, or call (925-3916)!

Need your Novell password?