HIS 404: History of the Old South: Websites & Archives

Documenting the American South (DocSouth) is a digital publishing initiative that provides Internet access to texts, images, and audio files related to southern history, literature, and culture. Currently DocSouth includes sixteen thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs.

DPLA connects people to the riches held within America’s libraries, archives, museums, and other cultural heritage institutions. All of the materials found through DPLA—photographs, books, maps, news footage, oral histories, personal letters, museum objects, artwork, government documents, and so much more—are free and immediately available in digital format. The cultural institutions participating in DPLA represent the richness and diversity of America itself, from the smallest local history museum to our nation’s largest cultural institutions. Our core work includes bringing new collections and partners into DPLA, building our technology, and managing projects that further our mission through curation, education, and community building.

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. Drawing on the 65,000 documents in the Gilder Lehrman Collection and an extensive network of eminent historians, the Institute provides teachers, students, and the general public with direct access to unique primary source materials.

Immigration to the US, 1789-1930 is a web-based collection of selected historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. For Internet users worldwide, Immigration to the US provides unparalleled, free and open digital access to a significant selection of unique source materials—more than 410,000 pages, 100 individually cataloged maps, and 7,800 photographs.

Southeastern Native American Documents, 1730-1842, contains approximately 2,000 documents and images relating to the Native American population of the Southeastern United States from the collections of the University of Georgia Libraries, the University of Tennessee at Knoxville Library, the Frank H. McClung Museum, the Tennessee State Library and Archives, the Tennessee State Museum, the Museum of the Cherokee Indian, and the LaFayette-Walker County Library. The documents are comprised of letters, legal proceedings, military orders, financial papers, and archaeological images relating to Native Americans in the Southeast.

This collection contains 4291 song sheets. Included among these American songs are ninety-seven British song sheets from Dublin and London. The collection spans the period from the turn of the nineteenth century to the 1880s, although a majority of the song sheets were published during the height of the craze, from the 1850s to the 1870s. Held by the Rare Book and Special Collections Division of the Library of Congress.

The papers of Alexander Hamilton Stephens (1812-1883), lawyer, journalist, governor of Georgia, member of both houses of the United States Congress, and vice president of the Confederate States of America, span the years 1784-1886, with the bulk of the material concentrated in the period 1850-1883. The collection consists primarily of correspondence, supplemented by an autobiography and journal and miscellaneous memoranda, legal documents, and clippings. The papers are organized in three series: General Correspondence, Letters from Servants, and Autobiography and Journal.

The Duke Digital Repository (DDR) is a service of Duke University Libraries that supports the activities of the University's faculty, researchers, students, and library staff by preserving, securing, and providing access to digital resources. The DDR extends the Libraries' ongoing mission of preservation and access to information, including research data, scholarly output, digital collections, archival records, and other digital materials that provide enduring value for intellectual inquiry and documentation of University activities.

Located in Jackson, MS, the Mississippi Department of Archives and History collects, preserves, and provides access to the archival resources of the state, administers museums and historic sites, and oversees statewide programs for historic preservation, government records management, and publications. Search their digital collections and online catalog for gov't records, manuscript collections, audiovisual collections, MS maps, "Mississippiana", museum collections, and more.

Digitized materials representing selected holdings in the Manuscripts, University Archives, the Ulysses S. Grant Presidential Library, and the Congressional & Political Research Center areas of the MSU Library are accessible through the Digital Library. These include diaries, correspondence, ledgers, photographs, transcripts, sheet music, and other unique materials, as well as publications.

This expanding set of materials represents a cross section of the Archives and Special Collections physical holdings as well as the Accounting Collections digital materials. Intended to support research and interest within and beyond the University of Mississippi community, these items include manuscripts, photographs, sheet music, streaming media, accounting publications, pamphlets and more.

The University of Southern Mississippi Libraries’ Digital Collections was established in November 1999 to create research quality digital collections of texts, images, and audio materials and make these collections available to scholars throughout the world. The first major collection was The Civil Rights in Mississippi Digital Archive. The Libraries’ Digital Collections aids in the preservation of research materials and promotes teaching and scholarship by providing digital access to the resources of the Special Collections housed in McCain Library & Archives.

The Mississippi Digital Library is the cooperative digital library program for the state. Its ultimate aim is to provide access to primary source materials covering a wide range of subject areas from Mississippi museums, archives, libraries, and historical societies.

The Mississippi College Room houses official publications of Mississippi College and other materials related to the university. The Faculty Authors Collection and the Alumni Authors Collection are located in the MC Room and include publications by or about MC faculty, alumni, and students. The MC Archives maintains research materials relating to Mississippi College and Central Female Institute/Hillman College history. The collection includes catalogs and yearbooks, photographs, vertical files, scrapbooks, and other materials.

The University Libraries Digital Collections Department creates digital collections and makes them available to enhance scholarship and research; to increase access to its holdings; to support the teaching and learning activities of the University of South Carolina faculty and students; and to promote lifelong learning by the citizens of South Carolina and the public at large.

The South Carolina Digital Library provides free access to historic materials, such as photographs, manuscripts, journals, books, oral histories, objects, etc. illustrating the history and culture of South Carolina from over 40 cultural heritage institutions across the state. Over 200,000 items have been added so far.

The South Georgia Historic Newspapers Archive provides online access to newspaper titles published in south Georgia cities from 1845 to 1922. The archive provides historical images that are both full-text searchable and can be browsed by date.

The University of Houston Digital Library is a comprehensive digital library, which provides for our students, faculty, and the greater community a rich and exciting environment for the discovery of digital resources and knowledge. The Digital Library and Audio/Video Repository make available digital collections of materials documenting the University of Houston, city of Houston, and state of Texas, as well as other historically and culturally significant materials.

The Office of Library Technology at Clemson University Libraries provides leadership in the creation, preservation, and promotion of digital content. We serve as a regional digitization lab for the South Carolina Digital Library with special emphasis on the Upstate of South Carolina, and content provider for digitized Special Collections and Archives materials at Clemson Libraries.

Produces digital collections and projects that support research about the Lowcountry region of South Carolina and historically interconnected sites in the Atlantic World. LCDL is committed to a multifaceted approach that incorporates historical and anthropological scholarship, oral history, integrative archival practices, digital librarianship, and spatial, temporal, and environmental information.