Skip to main content

Distance Education: Getting Started

This guide is designed to help online students locate and use the MC Library's online resources.

  • Find articles?

    The library databases are available online 24/7 to all current MC students. Note: Off-campus users will be prompted to log in with a current MC username/password.  To find articles in scholarly journals, trade publications, magazines, and newspapers, select Databases from the library's homepage.

    • Consult the database descriptions on the Library's Database page
    • Check to see if there is a Subject Guide that covers your subject area or topic.
      (click the 'All' link in the middle column to see complete listing)
  • Get access to library books? 

To see the library's ebook collections, hover your mouse on the 'Collections & Resources' tab on the library's homepage and select 'Ebooks' from the dropdown menu, or select this link: http://library.mc.edu/collections-resources/ebooks/Note: Off-campus users will be prompted to log in with a current MC username/password. 

 You can also download ebooks and portions of ebooks to your laptop, Android and Apple devices, and Kindles. Learn more about downloading ebooks to your computer or to Apple, Android, or Kindle devices.

  • Use interlibrary loan services? 

Distance Education students and faculty can our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service to request journal articles not available through Speed Library's database collection. journal article request. Watch the following tutorial video to learn how to submit an ILL request: http://library.mc.edu/help/tutorials/library-basics/ill/

For more information visit the Interlibrary Loan page or call Public Services at 601.925.3943.

 

  • Talk to a librarian? 

Frequently Asked Questions:

  • How can I access the library's databases?
    You may access these resources by using your MC campus network login.  If you don't know your username and password, you may get that from the
    MCnet Information Lookup page.  You may also call the Reference Desk at the library (925-3916) for instructions on retrieving your password or for answers to your questions about the databases
  • Can I request an article from a journal that's not online?
    Distance Learning students can request articles that are available in print by filing out this
    Ask A Librarian form.
  • What are E-Reserves?  Can distance learning students access them?
    Your professor may put materials on reserve for you to read. You can search these by your
    professor's name or by course.  You will need your MCnet login information to access e-reserves.
  • Can I borrow books from the library? 
    At this time Speed Library does not send books to distance learning students. 

Library Liaison