Leland Speed Library uses the Dewey Decimal Classification System. The general collection is located in the basement of the library (or lower level).
You can search for books & multi-media using MICAL in the search box below.
For information about where books, DVDs, journals, etc., are located in the library, please see the Location Guide PDF linked below.
The following Topics and Subject Headings can be used as a subject search for locating materials in the MC Library. These examples may be useful in your research, but this is not a comprehensive list. You may search by using the following parameters:
FINDING NEWSPAPERS
The resources below are either Mississippi College-restricted databases (meaning you must be an MC user to access) or are free publicly available sites. Use these resources to find primary source newspaper articles about your research topic.
Sign in with your MC username and password to access MC resources.
American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals Collection (MC restricted)
5 series spanning 1691-1877.
British Library News Media (public resource)
List of guides on finding newspapers from the British Library.
Guides specializing in specific time periods, current news, news archives, and television/radio news programs.
Chronicling America Historic American Newspapers (public resource)
Sponsored by the Library of Congress, Chronicling America provides information about historic newspapers and select digitized issues from 1789-1924.
Directory of newspapers published in the United States since 1690. Use the Directory to look-up specific titles and access information.
Elephind.com (public resource)
Search the world's historical newspaper archives.
Use Advanced Search to search by country, source and dates.
Search current and historic newspapers from across the globe.
International News Archives on the Web (public resource)
Links to online international newspapers, excluding the United States.
Keesing's World News Archive (MC restricted)
Keesing's World News Archive is a database comprised of a full-text archive of more than 114,000 articles published from 1913 - present.
MC Archives (MC restricted)
Explore the MC Archive for newspapers and other content related to MC and the Baptist Historical Commission. Head of Special Collections: Mrs. Moore, MLIS
Newspapers.com (public resource)
Issues of historical newspapers from the 1700s - 2000s. You can search by location, date, and/or keyword.
Newspaper Archives, Indexes and Morgues (public resource)
This list links to newspaper collections available on the web, locations of print and microfilm newspaper archives, and known photographic morgues within the United States.
List produced through the Library of Congress/Serial & Government Documents Division, Newspaper & Current Periodical Reading Room.
The above list is not exhaustive and has not been recently updated.