Skip to main content
Banner Image

Business: Welcome

Welcome to Your Business Research Guide

Guide Contents

Books & e-Books

Search Speed Library for books, e-Books, DVDs and other material.

Articles & Journals

Explore our database collections for articles or find a specific journal. 


Find statistics, current trends, professional organizations and more. 

Streaming Video

Browse Speed Library's streaming video collections anytime, anyplace.

Library Tutorials

View these quick tutorials and learn to conduct research like a pro.

APA Style

Use these resources to get your next assignment decked out in APA style.

Writing Center

Schedule a free one-on-one consultation with a qualified tutor. 

Research Glossary

Research Glossary

Abstract – A brief summary or overview of the main points of a work.

Annotated bibliography – A list of source citations with a summary or brief statement about each.

Bibliography (also References or Works Cited) – An alphabetical list of sources such as books, articles, websites, or other information used to compose a writing project. Includes information such as the title, author, volume and issue, website URL, and date of publication for each source.

Bound periodical – Issues of a journal bound together (usually by volume) in a hard book cover to preserve and organize them for later use.

Citation – A reference to a particular article, book chapter or other source; usually includes at least the title, author, and year of publication. Bibliographies are collections of citations.

Dissertation – A research project required to earn a doctoral degree.

Expository text – Explains, clarifies, and organizes information on a topic.

Microfiche – Small plastic sheets containing tiny images of books, newspapers, and other materials that require a microform reader for viewing and printing.

Microfilm – Rolls of film containing tiny images of books, newspapers, and other materials that require a microform reader for viewing and printing.

Original research article - An article written by the researchers that explains the research and its findings.

Parenthetical citation – Source citations within the text of a written work that point the reader to the original source of the information, listed in detail in the Bibliography, References, or Works Cited at the end of the work.

Peer-reviewed journal (also Refereed journal) – A journal that uses a panel of subject experts (the “peers” of the authors submitting articles) to review and select articles for publication in the journal, according to its publication standards.

Periodical – A magazine or journal published at regular intervals.

Primary source – An artifact or document from the time period in which an event occurred.

Qualitative research – Research that involves analysis through observation and interpretation. Data may be in the form of observation or artifacts. Qualitative research seeks to describe and interpret.

Quantitative research – Research using data in the form of numerical data and statistical models. Quantitative research seeks to accurately measure or count.

Review article – An article that offers an overview of research in subject area to-date.

Secondary source – An analysis or commentary on an event after it has passed.

Thesis – A research project required to earn a master’s degree.

Thesis statement – A statement at the beginning of a paper that explains what the paper is about. For research, it might also state the results of the study.

Subject Guide

Claudia Conklin
Leland Speed Library