Building from Waste (2014) by
Aconceptual and practical look into materials and products which use waste as a renewable resource for architectural, interior, and industrial design. The inventory ranges from marketed products to advanced research and development, organized along the manufacturing processes: densified, reconfigured, transformed, designed and cultivated materials.A product directory presents all materials and projects according to their functional uses.
Color and Design (2012) by
From products we use to clothes we wear, and spaces we inhabit, we rely on colour to provide visual appeal, data codes and meaning. Color and Design addresses how we understand and experience colour, and through specific examples explores how colour is used in a spectrum of design-based disciplines including apparel design, graphic design, interior design, and product design. Through highly engaging contributions from a wide range of international scholars and practitioners, the book explores colour as an individual and cultural phenomenon, as a pragmatic device for communication, and as a valuable marketing tool. Color and Design provides a comprehensive overview for scholars and an accessible text for students on a range of courses within design, fashion, cultural studies, anthropology, sociology and visual and material culture. Its exploration of colour in marketing as well as design makes this book an invaluable resource for professional designers. It will also allow practitioners to understand how and why colour is so extensively varied and offers such enormous potential to communicate.
Furniture Design (2013) by
Furniture Design is a comprehensive guide and resource for students and furniture designers. As well as discussing pioneering contemporary and historical designs, it also provides substantive answers to designers' questions about function, materials, manufacture and sustainability, integrating guidance on all of these subjects - particularly material and manufacturing properties - in one accessible and structured volume. Many leading contemporary furniture designers from around the world are included, with case studies carefully selected to highlight the importance of both material and manufacture-led design processes. The book is also intended to provide an insight into furniture design for those considering a college education in product and industrial design.
The Interior Design Reference and Specification Book (2013) by
In the world of interior design, thousands of bits of crucial information are scattered across a wide array of sources. The Interior Design Reference & Specification Book collects the information essential to planning and executing interior projects of all shapes and sizes, and distills it in a format that is as easy to use as it is to carry. You'll also find interviews with top practitioners drawn across the field of interior design. --Fundamentals provides a step-by-step overview of an interiors project, describing the scope of professional services, the project schedule, and the design and presentation tools used by designers. --Space examines ways of composing rooms as spatial environments while speaking to functional and life-safety concerns. --Surface identifies options in color, material, texture, and pattern, while addressing maintenance and performance issues. --Environments looks at aspects of interior design that help create a specific mood or character, such as natural and artificial lighting, sound and smell. --Elements describes the selection and specification of furniture and fixtures, as well as other components essential to an interior environment, such as artwork and accessories. --Resources gathers a wealth of useful data, from sustainability guidelines to online sources for interiors-related research.
Key Interiors Since 1900 (2013) by
This book defines the history of modern interior design through the reuse of existing buildings. This approach allows the history of the interior to be viewed as separate from the history of architecture and instead enables the interior to develop its own historical narrative. Following a brief introduction, the book is organized in six chapters on the following themes: home, work, retail, display, leisure, and culture. Each chapter comprises a selection of case studies in chronological order. 52 key examples dating from 1900 to the present are explored in terms of context, concept, organization, and detail and are illustrated with photographs, plans, sections, concept drawings, and sketches. This unique history will be invaluable for students of interior architecture and design seeking a survey tailored especially for them, as well as appealing to interested general readers.
Printed Textile Design (2013) by
This book explains the fundamentals of printed textile design, from design brief through to the completed collection, and introduces the basics of color, drawing, composition, and repeat with a series of step-by-step exercises and examples. Printed Textile Design helps to demystify the design process and provides an invaluable guide to the study and practice of textile design. The book includes case studies of designers working in both the fashion and interiors sectors. It covers hand and traditional print techniques and the latest digital print technologies, with specially commissioned photographs of the processes. All aspects of textile design are covered, from sustainability to manufacturing and marketing the finished product.
Search MC Libraries' physical book collections in our library catalog. Locate books housed in the library using the title and call numbers in records.
Search the MC Libraries' Catalog
eBook collections allow full-text access from the item's record (login required off-campus).
Speed/Basement Stacks - Located on the bottom floor, the basement collection or "stacks" include most of Speed Library's circulating books.
Speed/Juvenile & Speed/Curriculum Lab - Basement area, near group study rooms.
Speed/MC Collection - Located in Special Collections on the third floor, near the elevator. MC Collection materials do not circulate.
Speed/Oversize Area - Main floor area, in the Discovery Room on short shelving.
Speed/Ready Reference - Third floor near the printers Ready reference materials do not circulate.
MC Law Library - Located in downtown Jackson. Main campus MC students can check out circulating materials with a valid MC ID card.
LRC - Speed Library Teaching and Learning Center (TLC), main floor. Computers and printing available, open study areas, and home of the MC Studio.
Mississippi Baptist Historical Commission (MBHC) - Located in Special Collections on the third floor, near the elevator. MBHC materials do not circulate.
Quinn Library Art Department - Gore Arts Complex. Materials in the Quinn collection do not circulate.
Visit our expanded e-book collections Use the links below for instructions on downloading an e-book to your computer, Apple, Android and Kindle devices.
Interlibrary Loan is a free service to current MC students and faculty. EBSCO databases have integrated ILL Request options in Results for citations that don't include full-text. Use the article request form to request items from other resources. Limit of 5 open requests at a time.
