LibGuides: MGT 499 Course Guide: Articles & Journals

Magazine or Journal - What's the Difference?

Types of Periodicals
Newspapers, magazines and journals are all types of periodicals - published at intervals or periodically. In the case of newspapers, this may be daily, and some journals only produce one issue a year. Find out how periodicals differ from each other and how they can benefit your research with this pdf handout.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Search Business Source Complete for full text journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics. Additional full text, non-journal content includes financial data, books, monographs, major reference works, book digests, conference proceedings, case studies, investment research reports, industry reports, market research reports, country reports, company profiles, SWOT analyses and more.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles. Dates of coverage vary according to title.
D& B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D & B Hoovers offers in-depth company, people, and industry research. Users can build lists by company data, people, keywords, or industry code.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni provides access to the full text of thousands of publications, including national and international newspapers, popular and general-interest magazines, economics and trade journals, company financial reports, legal cases and law journals, medical and health sources, and the Public Opinion Online database, produced by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research.
Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Gives extensive information on companies, including financials, stock, properties, joint ventures, subsidiaries, SEC filings, dept, etc., for over 11,000 U.S. companies.
Communication Source This link opens in a new window
Includes rigorous curation and indexing of open access (OA) journals, which has resulted in a growing collection of 387 active global OA journals. Once validated and certified for inclusion, these OA journals are treated with high-quality subject indexing and sophisticated, precise/accurate full-text linking.  
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Contains contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues
PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to over 50 journal titles published by APA and other allied organizations covering general psychology and related disciplines. Includes full-text book chapters from 2000 to present.

Interlibrary Loan is a free service to current MC students and faculty. EBSCO databases have integrated ILL Request options in Results for citations that don't include full-text. Use the article request form to request items from other resources. Limit of 5 open requests at a time.

Power Searching

As you're looking for journal articles in the databases, look at the bibliographies at the end of articles that relate to your topic. Searching the sources of the author is a great way to find additional sources for your own work.

If you find a citation for an article in a bibliography, you can search for that article by first looking for the journal title in Journal Finder. Then look for the year, volume and issue, and article title.

Can't find the journal title, or the year you need? Submit an article request through Interlibrary Loan.