KIN 150 - Foundations and History of Kinesiology: Journals, Magazines, & Newspapers Online

NOTE: If you are off-campus, you will be asked for your McNet username and password (same as for your e-mail)

Kinesiology Database

SPORTDiscus With Full Text  (Available through EBSCOhost) 
Offers coverage from magazine articles, journals articles, books, and conference proceedings, as well as dissertations and theses.  Includes content from all aspects of fitness and health relating to sports medicine and related fields.

General and Related Databases

Academic Search Complete (Available through EBSCOhost)
A multi-disciplinary database including articles from magazines (such as Time, Forbes, and Business Week) and journals.  Includes content from many areas of academic study. 

ERIC (Available through EBSCOhost)
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center, contains information from educational publications.  Includes information on coaching and teaching physical education.

Business Source Complete  (Available through EBSCOhost)

A business database with articles from magazines and articles. Includes information about careers and job outlooks.

Video Databases

Sports Medicine & Exercise Science in Video (Available through Alexander Street Press)

Sports Medicine and Exercise Science in Video includes demonstrations of the principles, techniques, and modalities of modern exercise and sport science from athletic trainers, physicians, physical therapists, registered dieticians, and other wellness professionals. Topics across the collection include includes sport-specific training, exercise psychology, injury prevention and treatment, nutrition, special populations, fitness and health assessment, medical fitness, exercise adherence, sport science, and worksite wellness.

LOCATING A JOURNAL ARTICLE - If you are looking for a known article (you already have the citation from a reference book, bibliography, another article, etc.) the following should help:

• Search the Journal Finder.
  If the journal is in electronic format, just choose the link.  If the journal is in Print format, these journals are arranged alphabetically by title on the 2nd floor of the library. Older bound issues are in the back of the 2^nd floor, and more current issues are shelved by the public computer area.
• Do a search on the web.  Although most journal articles are not available for free, sometimes you may find what you are looking for.
• If you can not locate the full text in print or electronic format, request an interlibrary loan.

What words should you use?

You may find that different databases use different terminology.  One may use careers while another uses jobs or vocations. If at first you don't succeed, try again.  And when you find a relevant article, pay attention to the subject headings to get ideas of words to use.