LibGuides: Citation Guide: Chicago/Turabian Style

Turabian Guide

Below is the authoritative source for citing sources using Turabian style.

This book is available at the MC Speed Library at the 2^nd floor Reference Desk.

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations, Ninth Edition by Kate L. Turabian; Wayne C. Booth (Revised by); Gregory G. Colomb (Revised by); Joseph M. Williams (Revised by); Joseph Bizup (Revised by); William T. FitzGerald (Revised by); The University The University of Chicago Press Editorial Staff (Revised by)
Call Number: 378.242 T84m 2018 READY REF
ISBN: 9780226430577
Publication Date: 2018-04-16
When Kate L. Turabian first put her famous guidelines to paper, she could hardly have imagined the world in which today's students would be conducting research. Yet while the ways in which we research and compose papers may have changed, the fundamentals remain the same: writers need to have a strong research question, construct an evidence-based argument, cite their sources, and structure their work in a logical way. A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations--also known as "Turabian"--remains one of the most popular books for writers because of its timeless focus on achieving these goals. This new edition filters decades of expertise into modern standards. While previous editions incorporated digital forms of research and writing, this edition goes even further to build information literacy, recognizing that most students will be doing their work largely or entirely online and on screens. Chapters include updated advice on finding, evaluating, and citing a wide range of digital sources and also recognize the evolving use of software for citation management, graphics, and paper format and submission. The ninth edition is fully aligned with the recently released Chicago Manual of Style, 17th edition, as well as with the latest edition of The Craft of Research. Teachers and users of the previous editions will recognize the familiar three-part structure. Part 1 covers every step of the research and writing process, including drafting and revising. Part 2 offers a comprehensive guide to Chicago's two methods of source citation: notes-bibliography and author-date. Part 3 gets into matters of editorial style and the correct way to present quotations and visual material. A Manual for Writers also covers an issue familiar to writers of all levels: how to conquer the fear of tackling a major writing project. Through eight decades and millions of copies, A Manual for Writers has helped generations shape their ideas into compelling research papers. This new edition will continue to be the gold standard for college and graduate students in virtually all academic disciplines.

Overview

Turabian is a style of writing and formatting that was created by Kate Turbian. It is adapted from the University of Chicago's 'Chicago' style of citation and is most commonly used in the social sciences.

Turabian covers two different forms for citation:

notes-bibliography style, or simply bibliography style used in the humanities and social sciences). Sources are cited by using footnotes (or endnotes) and a bibliography.
parenthetical citations-reference list style, or reference list style (used in some social sciences and in the natural/physical sciences). Sources are cited by using parenthetical author/date references in the text and a reference list.

THE EXAMPLES FOUND ON THESE PAGES ARE FORMATTED USING THE NOTES-BIBLIOGRAPHY STYLE.

IF YOU ARE UNSURE WHICH FORM TO USE, CONSULT YOUR PROFESSOR.

History

The Chicago and Turabian styles are nearly identical.

Kate Turabian, the dissertation secretary at the University of Chicago for over 30 years, developed her guide for students and researchers writing papers, theses, and dissertations. Her manual is based on the University of Chicago Press's Manual of Style and departs from it in few places. "Turabian," as her guide is called, synthesizes the rules most important for students' papers and other scholarly research not intended for publication, and omits some of the publishing details and options that "Chicago" provides.

Differences

The differences between the Chicago and Turabian styles are mainly seen in how notes are numbered.

In Turabian style, use superscript ¹ for endnote and footnote numbers in the text and at the beginning of each note.

In Chicago style, the note number in the text is in parentheses (1) and is followed by a period and space in the note, as in the following example:

1. Chicago

¹Turabian

Turabian Tutor

Turabian Tutor

Designed to help students properly cite in Turabian Style.

Created by Jerry N. Barlow, Sandy Vandercook, & Eddie Campbell, New Orleans Theological Seminary