Skip to main content

HIS 435 Social Studies Methods: Journal Articles

How to Find Articles

Journal articles may be found either in the print journals (located on the top floor of Speed Library) or online through databases linked on the Databases page.

  • To find a specific articlesearch for the journal title in the Journal Finder to see if the library has a subscription to that journal, either in print or via a database.
     
  • The Journal Finder will also list the years available for each periodical and any full-text delay [some publishers restrict database access to their most recent issues, generally for 6-18 month periods.
     
  • If an article is under delay, you will need to find a print copy of the article either in the library's print collection or via the Interlibrary Loan Service].

Suggested Peer-Reviewed Journals

The following journals are peer-reviewed publications related to social studies education.

  • Most are available through library databases, and they include links to its Journal Finder entry with information on what dates are available and links for database access. 
  • Others on the list are freely available online & include links to the site.

This list is not comprehensive. See more relevant journals here: Social Studies Education or History Education.

Useful Databases

For a complete list of databases, visit the library's Databases page. Below you'll find links to related databases. Please note, you can search all EBSCO databases simultaneously by selecting "Choose Databases" next to the search box in any EBSCOhost database.